running and life update

Hey hey friends!  

I know, I know…I won’t even start with my excuses for not blogging.  Let’s just say that I’ve been living life and enjoying it!  I absolutely love blogging and will continue to do it, but whenever it starts to feel like a chore, I make myself step away for a bit.  

The half marathon count down is on!  In five weeks and five days, I will have finished my very first half marathon!  My training has been like my blogging lately – inconsistent.  However, I feel good on my runs and definitely feel like I can rock the 13.1 when the time comes.  Yesterday, I ran 8 miles before church.  I didn’t map out my route before hand to see exactly how long it was, and I ended up having to book it the last 2 miles to make it home in time to get ready to be at church!  It was a good push.

My new running shoes have made the biggest difference in my runs!  I cannot say enough good things about FleetFeet and the Mizuno Wave Riders.  In. Love.

387059 615099480362 1574767705 n

Next week is football homecoming – yeah – in September.  It’s crazy early, but it’s coming so I guess I better prepare for it!  We are having a TON of cheerleading practices this week and next week, and we are decorating the school this weekend.  Our theme is Back to the Future, and the dress up days go throughout the decades (we even have a futuristic day – I think I’ll make an outfit out of aluminum foil hehe).  Any dress up ideas for me?  I like to go all out! 

Another random thing I want to tell you about is yet another new obsession from Trader Joe’s: Sea Salt and Turbinado Sugar Dark Chocolate Almonds.  Seriously – these are the most addicting things I’ve ever eaten.  If you looked up perfection in the dictionary, this is what you would see:

I’m convinced that the little bit of sea salt is what keeps me reaching for just one more, and one more after that.

OH – and big news!  It’s officially my birthday month!  Of course I started celebrating on September 1 (even though my birthday isn’t until the 26th) – we went out for sushi and then frozen yogurt!  Daniel asked me like 3 weeks ago what I wanted (he’s so awesome – I didn’t buy his gift until the day before his birthday…shhhh don’t tell him!  It was a great gift – does that make up for it??), and I originally said I didn’t want anything.  This is very unlike me, because usually I’ll want something for a while and instead of buying it I’ll make it a birthday or Christmas suggestion.  However, I honestly couldn’t think of anything I wanted this year!  Five minutes after I answered with “Nothing.  Seriously – I can’t think of anything.  Let’s not spend any money on my birthday and save it for our anniversary trip or something,” I went in the kitchen to make a smoothie.  Daniel heard me yell, “I know what I want now!!!!!!!!!  A vitamix!!!!!!!”  

It’s only $650…that’s not too much to ask, is it? 🙂  

One day, my friends, I will own a vitamix, and it will be amazing.  One day.

I know this post is all over the place, but I wanted you to know that I’m still alive and kicking running!  

I hope that you have a GREAT week!

much love,

natalie

so tell me….

What have YOU been up to lately?

What do you want for your next birthday??? 

19 Responses to “running and life update”


  1. 1 Andrea @ Andrea out loud! September 10, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    I was jst dreaming of a vitamix the other day too. And Torrance reminded me my smoothie loving goes in spurts so it would sit unused for months at a time…. But whatever 😉

  2. 4 Angie @ Pint of Goals September 10, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Good to hear from you again, and I’m glad things are well!
    If the Vitamix is too costly, you could give the Ninja a shot. It’s similar but only $100ish.

  3. 6 Emily September 10, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    Sometimes I take a break from blogging, if it gets in the way of me exercising, I will skip my blog!

  4. 9 Elizabeth Pinnix Evans September 10, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    Costco has a vitamix on sale for $500 right now 🙂

  5. 11 Liz @ TheLambentLife September 11, 2012 at 6:40 am

    I’ve heard so many good things about wave runners. I’m pretty loyal to Asics but I may need to try those out. And you’re right – the folks at Fleet Feet are great! I’m generally a “leave me alone while I get what I need” kind of shopper but the workers at the FF here in Savannah were so incredibly helpful when I was having trouble with my heels.

  6. 13 Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy September 11, 2012 at 8:30 am

    A Vitamix would be nice, but they are so darn expensive! The blades on regular blenders are just not sharp enough for smoothies :(.

  7. 15 Nicole September 11, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    This is my birthday month also (16th) and I also have 7 friends who birthdays are in September so we meet in the middle on the 22nd and have a party for all the us!
    I’m so glad your doing well and best of luck with cheer!
    Have a great week.

  8. 17 Kristen @ notsodomesticated September 11, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    Hooray, great job with your run!!! That is awesome! And yay for September birthday! We’re the best! 😉

  9. 19 John September 12, 2012 at 5:25 am

    You’re my running shoes double!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

