my favorite running day ever

Hey y’all!  

I sincerely hope that you each had a marvelous Monday!  I am just so excited right now because I hit a new running milestone yesterday!

In case you are new around here, I’m training for my very first half marathon.  The race is a little bit less than two months away now, and I’m trying to increase my mileage in an extremely safe way.  However, in the last few weeks, I haven’t been getting in my long runs on the weekends.  Sure, I’ll run two or three short runs during the week (usually 2-3 miles each), but the distance running just hasn’t happened lately.  Last time I ran any sort of long run (for me – remember I’m still a running newbie) was almost a month ago, and it was a six miler.  

Enter Monday: my favorite running day ever.

Yesterday morning, I woke up super early – 4:30 – and couldn’t go back to sleep.  I read my Bible (on my phone via the youversion Bible app – it’s awesome!) for about 30 minutes until my alarm went off.  I hopped up and started getting ready to go out for a run, and I was all set to go at 5:15.  I kissed Daniel goodbye and headed out the door.  Did you know that it’s still pitch black dark at 5:15 a.m.???  It may be just me, but I don’t feel safe running in the black dark with no street lights (too many CSI, Law & Order, and Criminal Minds episodes!).  It was also drizzling rain, so I headed right back inside.  I was determined to run today since I didn’t get a long run in over the weekend.  I packed up all my stuff for the day, took a quick shower, and drove to school to run on the track.

Runhappy

(source)

The track around our football field is one quarter of a mile.  I set out with the goal of running twelve laps, which would equal three miles (I know, I’m an amazing mathematician).  The rain had stopped and it was a cool 62 degrees with a light breeze.  I reached in my bag for my little shuffle, and came up empty-handed.  WHAT??????  NO MUSIC????  HOW WILL I RUN???  Yeah – all those things went through my mind!  I then remembered that I am strong (and extremely stubborn) and could get myself through 12 circles around the track.  As soon as I started, I decided to pray through the first lap.  Then, I decided to pick one thing to pray about for each lap I did.  This seems like no big deal, but I know I am guilty of the 2 minute prayer that encompasses everything, so it was a nice change to really focus on one thing or person and pray about nothing but that for at least two and a half minutes.  I kept thinking of more things that I wanted to talk to God about, so I ended up running 14 laps total (3.5 miles).  The run felt amazing.  I honestly did not even miss the music.  Prayer is such a powerful and peaceful thing, and it was the best start to the day and to the week.  I think this will be my new Monday morning routine!  Anyone else want to join me for a prayer run?

Phil467

I went throughout my day planning, teaching, and prepping for the rest of the week.  I had it in my mind that I wanted to get in at least 2 more miles after cheer practice.  When I got home, I was having those “oh, I ran this morning” and “man, I just want to sit down!” thoughts.  I punched those thoughts in the face and mapped out my evening run.  I set out at 6:15 and ran a loop that ended up being 4.15 miles.  That’s right – I, Natalie, the former non-running-enjoyer, ran TWICE in one day for a total of 7.65 miles.  Yep, I’m proud!  On Wednesday, my friend Amy and I try to run after school together, and this week we are planning on either 4 or 5 miles depending on what time we get to start.  It’s supposed to be warm, but hopefully it won’t be too terribly bad.

Runningquote

I still can’t believe all this running talk is coming from me – who have I become?  🙂

I hope that y’all have a great day today!

much love,

natalie

so tell me…

Why do you run???

What motivates you the most to get out the door and start your run (or any workout)?

22 Responses to “my favorite running day ever”


  1. 1 maddisonvernon August 21, 2012 at 5:37 am

    Wow congrats! I too am training for a half marathon in a couple of months – and am not a runner in any sense, but am loving the long distances and my accomplishments!
    I love to run because I know it just feels great during the run and I love after I’ve run the sense of accomplishment and the buzz I get. Sometimes it is very difficult to get motivated but knowing I have to train usually kicks me out the door.
    Good luck on training for your half marathon!

  2. 2 Angie @ Pint of Goals August 21, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Nice job Natalie! Running can be so therapeutic – I am glad you found another way to be happy running.
    I run because I enjoy running with friends and talking nonstop; I find races fun; and I love the feeling after a good run.
    Have a great day!

  3. 3 Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 21, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Good for you! Congrats! I’m training for my first half marathon right now, and those long runs are a mental struggle for me! I know that I just have to keep pushing through it!

  4. 7 Ashley August 21, 2012 at 9:21 am

    So ambitious of you to run twice in one day! Wow! I love running because it makes me feel good, helps me clear my head, and challenges me!

  5. 9 sandy sneakers blog August 21, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Hey there!! I am also training for my first half marathon and just started a blog to document my training as motivation and hopefully to inspire others. Sounds like you are doing a great job! Keep it up!!

  6. 11 Nicole August 21, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    Congratulations Natalie!! 🙂

  7. 13 keepmoving4wd August 21, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    Wow your blog is awesome, so glad I came across it, you write really well and I love the quotes! 🙂 Good luck with your training for the half marathon… Can’t wait to hear all about it! Keep strong! 🙂

  8. 15 Kimberly Boots August 21, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    When I started training for my first 5k I didn’t have music and I wondered how in the world I was going to get through it. The biggest obstacle in running for me is the mental struggle. I found that running was a perfect time to spend with God. I would sing praise songs (in my head…naturally I would have no breath to be able to sing out loud!) or I would just talk to God. I really enjoy that time and miss it since I haven’t been running as much. Even when I finally got an mp3 player, I felt like God was pushing me not to use it on the 5k I was about to run, and that’s the race when I made friends with Lisa Melton. I would have never met her if I was focused and zoned out to my music. I would love to do a prayer run with you on Mondays! I probably wouldn’t keep up with your pace, but I would at least be there at the same time you are! LOL I have to be at work at 7:30, so early is good for me. I’ll be in town this Monday, so keep me posted!

  9. 17 notsodomesticated August 21, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    I’ve done the praying while running thing, and I definitely love it. It is a special time between me and the Lord. Good stuff! 🙂

  10. 19 High Heels & Running Shoes August 21, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Wow! I loved your post! Last year I ran a lot of 10k races and used to pray while running; giving thanks for each step I took brought me peace and strength. I’m also training for my first half marathon and feel great each time I get up early for a run. Good luck with your training! I’ll keep visiting your blog checking for updates!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

