putting the suitcase away

I’m back!  After several weeks of traveling, house sitting, and more traveling, I am finally putting my suitcase away (that is, once I actually unpack it).

I have had so much fun this summer, but it seems impossible that tomorrow is the last day of July AND that this is my last week of summer break.  Where did it go?!

Last Wednesday I headed out to Nashville to spend the night before flying to Ohio on Thursday.  My first stop was Fleet Feet to get new running shoes!!!  Aren’t they awesome?!?!?!

Newshoes

That night, I met up with my mom and another girl and we went for dinner at this great little place called The Yellow Porch.  We didn’t go until 9 and we definitely missed the big crowd because we were seated immediately.  All of our food was wonderful, but the caprese salad stole the show.  

Nashdress

 

Ypcaprese

On Thursday morning, my mom and I went to a little place called Marche for a delicious breakfast before heading to the airport.  I ordered flax toast with fresh ricotta, peaches, and honey and a fried egg on the side.    Mom ordered one fried egg and the savory crepe of the day, which was potato, lemon, and mint.  Of course, we split our food and everything was delicious!

Peachesricottatoast

We flew to Columbus where my sweet cousin Laurel picked us up.  She had to go back to work, but dropped us at Easton to shop for a couple hours.  After a somewhat successful shopping trip and grabbing a light bite to eat, she picked us back up and we headed to her lovely home.  My amazing blogger friend, Lindsay from In Sweetness and in Health, lives nearby and came to meet us for dinner.  Lindsay and I connected through Kristen and got to know one another through our Bible study and countless emails and texts.  She is incredibly sweet, thoughtful, and caring.  If you don’t read her blog, you definitely should!  It was so much fun to finally meet her in person, and it really felt like I was just seeing an old friend.  We chatted the night away and enjoyed a scrumptious dinner at a cool pizzeria called Harvest.  I can’t wait until we can meet up again!

Natandlinds

378210 615390462232 97333540 n

Late that night, we rode with my cousin to a little place outside Toledo.  We were there to celebrate with my mom’s oldest sister – 29 years of being cancer-free!  We joined in on all the food prep on Friday and also had a great time catching up on everyone’s life!  The party was Friday night, and it was a blast.  The food was great, and the DJ played a great mix of music until midnight.  Needless to say, when I wasn’t explaining my southern accent (those Ohio people thought it was so funny and kept asking me where I was from haha), I was dancing the night away.  It was a great night celebrating my aunt’s health and life.

Girlsinkitchenohio

On Saturday we spent the day at my aunt’s lovely home eating leftovers and watching my little cousins swim and play.  All too soon we were headed to the Detroit airport to catch our flight back to Nashville.  We drove straight from the airport to meet my cousin and her husband at The Cheesecake Factory (I had never been!) for dinner.  Oh my gosh – that menu is quite overwhelming!  I ordered a glass of skinny sangria, farro salad, and salmon rolls.  I couldn’t finish my meal, and ordering dessert was out of the question.  I guess I’ll have to go back sometime to get some cheesecake!  

Farrosalad

After crashing that night (I slept in the exact spot where Steve McNair was murdered – pretty cool, huh? – it’s actually a really nice apartment!), I got up the next morning and headed to my favorite place – Trader Joe’s!  I stocked up on everything I needed (and a few extra items…dark chocolate coconut bonbons…mmmm) and then headed home.  As soon as I walked in the door, I gave Daniel a quick kiss and then my mom’s other sister (from Texas) stopped by with her husband, one of her daughters and her grandson.  They were in town for a high school reunion, and it was so good to catch up with them!  When everyone left, the only thing I wanted to do was hang out with Daniel and take a nap haha.  Instead, I headed off to tumbling with my cheerleaders (who are truly amazing, by the way).  Once back home, we chilled for a bit and then I convinced Daniel to take me to Sonic for 1/2 price shakes.  I got a mini vanilla caramel hot fudge shake, and it was perfect.  After that, we both crashed!

Okay, enough of this rambling!  I hope that y’all had a great weekend!!!!!!!!!  I have an announcement later this week, so be watching for it!

much love,

natalie

so tell me…

Do you unpack your suitcase as soon as you get home, or do you put if off?

Do you see your family often (parents, siblings, aunts, uncles, cousins)?

10 Responses to “putting the suitcase away”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated July 30, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    Whew, what a busy lady you are!! All of your food looks soo yummy! That savory crepe sounded particularly delicious to me!

    I typically unpack ASAP. It drives me crazy having stuff in chaos around my house haha! But after this last trip, it took me a little longer than usual to get organized again! 😉

  2. 3 Angie @ Pint of Goals July 30, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    Your blue dress is adorable!
    I unpack and do laundry right away. Especially after traveling and sitting for a long time, I am often restless and feel the need to clean things up and put everything away.
    I’m excited for the announcement 🙂

    • 4 natalie @ southern fit foodie July 30, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      Thanks! I actually borrowed the blue dress and the pink dress from one of my cheerleaders haha. I told her I wanted to buy them from her (or maybe I could trade her – I get the dresses and she gets out of running at practice hahahaha).

  3. 5 Liz @ TheLambentLife July 31, 2012 at 7:49 am

    It takes me an embarrassingly long time to unpack but my husband is even worse. If it were up to him, we would just leave the darn thin out year-round! It’s practically become a permenant fixture in our bedroom.

  4. 7 Kailey July 31, 2012 at 9:25 am

    I always hate coming back from a fun, relaxing vacation 😦 Sounds like you had a great time traveling!

    Love the pink dress

  5. 9 In Sweetness and In Health July 31, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Oh I love you! You are so sweet :). And I’m so glad you had a great weekend visiting family! Um and yay for trader joes…I’m glad you were able to get there! I always unpack my suitcase right away, it drives me crazy if I don’t haha.


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

