french toast pancakes

Good morning, friends!  I hope that your week is going well so far, and if not…well, it’s almost the weekend! 🙂

This morning I was craving something delicious for breakfast.  Don’t get me wrong, the cinnamon Life I had yesterday was delicious, but I wanted something that offered a bit more flavor and that kept me full.  I decided to cook up some pancakes, but didn’t want to fuss with a lot of ingredients.  I searched some of my favorite recipe blogs and cooking sites, but then decided to just wing it.  It was a good decision, because I ended up with French toast pancakes.  That’s right – two of the most classic breakfasts foods in one.  

Blueberrypancakes

French Toast Pancakes 

note – this recipe is for one serving (three pancakes), but it could easily be multiplied to fit your needs

Ingredients

one egg (farm fresh from my sweet friend, Amy)

1/3 cup low fat cottage cheese

1/3 cup oats (I used regular, but I think quick cooking oats would also work)

4 or 5 drops NuNaturals vanilla stevia (or 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 pack stevia, splenda, or sugar)

1-2 tsp coconut oil (or whatever oil you have on hand)

Blueberries (optional)

Directions

Combine all ingredients in food processor or blender.

Heat oil in skillet or griddle over medium-high heat.

Using a spoon or 1/4 cup measuring cup, drop batter into skillet (should be 3 quarter-cup servings).

If using blueberries, drop a small handful on top of each pancake.

Cook until bubbles start to form and pop (I think about 3-4 minutes).

Gently flip over and cook on other side until desired color is reached.

Enjoy with toppings of choice!

Pancake collage

The egg in these pancakes gave them a French toast taste, and they were incredibly delicious!  I enjoyed mine with a little Brummel and Brown yogurt spread and some maple syrup.  Some other toppings that would be great would be nut butters, Greek yogurt, fruit, fruit spreads, nuts, chocolate (I had a very hard time deciding between adding chocolate chips or adding blueberries), etc. 

As far as nutrition stats go, let’s compare these to typical pancakes.  According to myfitnesspal, one serving of pancakes has 275 calories, 33g carbs, 13g fat, 8g protein, 675mg sodium (!!!!), and 9g sugar.  This recipe (not including blueberries or any toppings) has 235 calories, 22g carbs, 9g fat (mostly from the egg), 18g protein, 375mg sodium, and 4g sugar.  So basically, half the sodium and double the protein – um YES please!

I’m heading out to Nashville today and flying to Ohio tomorrow to be with my family for a celebration (more on that later).  I hope y’all have a great day!

much love,

natalie

so tell me…

What’s your favorite topping(s) for pancakes?

Which do you like more, French toast or pancakes?

11 Responses to “french toast pancakes”


  1. 1 Ashley @ My Food N Fitness Diaries July 25, 2012 at 10:09 am

    yum! these sound delicious! i’m more of a pancake person for sure, but i do enjoy some french toast every once in awhile. i love some peanut butter, bananas, and a drizzle of light maple syrup for my pancakes!

  2. 3 pintofgoals July 25, 2012 at 11:27 am

    My favorite toppings combo include blueberries, unsweetened coconut, and maple syrup.
    I made a mango avocado smoothie yesterday! It was delicious and creamy but I think I added too much avocado.

  3. 5 Lauren July 25, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    Hi Natalie! These look so yummy and healthy! I’m obsessed with pancakes and will definitely have to try yours! I love to top mine with a peanut butter syrup made with pb, water, maple syrup, and vanilla.

  4. 7 Kristen @ notsodomesticated July 25, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    Have a great time on your trip, my friend!! Love this idea for french toast pancakes. I seriously need to get out my pancake griddle soon. I had some pancakes on the trip that were just AH-MAZING, and now I want more! 😉

  5. 9 FitNjess August 5, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    wow these pancakes look to die for!! I am hungry now!!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

