overcoming fear

Good morning!!!!

I’m back!  Whew – last week was a fun, crazy, and exhausting one to say the least!  Cheer camp was a great success, and I wish y’all could have seen those 80 little girls performing for their parents at the end of the week.  It was so precious.  I’m finally getting the Justin Bieber and One Direction songs that we played all week out of my head.

Yeah.  Moving on…we are going to have a deep conversation today – ready?

I have had several conversations lately about fear.  Talks with friends, families, my cheerleaders, etc really have me thinking a lot about how we let fear get the best of us all too often.  

By definition, fear is:

1. a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc., whether the threat is real or imagined; the feeling or condition of being afraid
2. a specific instance of or propensity for such a feeling: an abnormal fear of heights
3. concern or anxiety; solicitude: a fear for someone’s safety
4. reverential awe, especially toward God
5.something that causes feelings of dread or apprehension; something a person is afraid of
 
Now, the fear I’m talking about isn’t just the “phobia” type of fear (side note – do you KNOW how many legit phobias there are???? fear of the moon??  fear of clouds?  fear of the color purple??).  I’m talking about the fear that robs us of our joy and happiness; the type of fear that comes with taking risks and accepting new challenges in life; the type of fear that comes when we step out of our comfort zone.  Satan likes to creep in with those “what if I fail” or “what if it doesn’t work out” questions.  There’s also always that one person who likes to point out all the things that could go wrong.  But what if we stopped thinking like that?  What if we focused on all the things that could go RIGHT and the amazing experience we may have?  
 
I kind of feel like I’m jumping around, but it just bothers me that so many of us let fear control our lives.  Fear is definitely something we need in our lives – thankfully God designed our bodies so that we would have that emotion when faced with danger or pain.  At the same time, we can’t let it control our lives.  In the Bible, you will continuously come across passages that begin with “fear not” or “do not be afraid” or “do not worry.” 
 
2tim17
 
That verse blows my mind – God has given us a spirit of POWER, not of fear!  
 
So, we know we have fear, but how do we overcome it?  For me, my answer comes straight from scripture. Jesus said that we would have many trials and troubles in our lives, but to take heart, because HE has overcome the world (John 16:33).  
 
1. pray – pray that the fear is taken away and a peace is restored; pray for wisdom; pray for clarity.
2. be confident – many of us are captive to our fears because we have believed them for so long and let them take hold of our lives – give those fears the cold shoulder and believe in yourself!
3. face them – that’s right – face your fears.  how are you supposed to deal with them if you’re running away from them all the time?
4. risk it – know that anything worth doing usually involves some sort of risk – and there’s only one way to find out if it’s truly worth it.
This week, I am going to face some of my own fears and work on overcoming them.  One thing that I will be working on is my fear of needing to fit a certain mold or be a certain body type.  Instead of feeding that fear by criticizing my body image, I am committing that I will say something positive to myself every day when I’m getting ready in front of the mirror.  Sounds silly, but I know that those positive thoughts will help keep the negativity and fear at bay.  
I hope that y’all have a great Monday and that you identify and conquer a fear this week!
much love,
natalie
so tell me…
Do you struggle with fear?
How do you overcome fears in your life?
Do you have any weird phobias????
10 Responses to “overcoming fear”


  1. 1 Angie @ Pint of Goals July 23, 2012 at 6:52 am

    This weekend I dealt with the fear of being in a bikini in front of new friends (men and women). I am self conscious about my tummy. My cover-up did come off, but I was still uncomfortable and didn’t totally relax. I would say it didn’t necessarily take away from how much fun I had, though, maybe because it’s something I’m used to thinking about.
    Great post! It obviously got me thinking early Monday morning 🙂
    Nice to have you back!

  2. 3 Tammy July 23, 2012 at 9:08 am

    Great message Nat. Missed church yesterday but this was a wonderful devotion to start my day! Fear is something that I allow to paralyze me – mine is public speaking. I am mortified…but it is part of my job. Thanks…miss you.

  3. 5 ittybitsofbalance July 23, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Amen amen amen! It’s SO amazing that you bring up the subject of fear because it has been on my heart consistently for these past few weeks. My fears have a lot more to do with being anxious and nervous that things wont go as I plan them to, or being scared that I’ll be thrown out of my comfort zone– but I need to find my comfort in Christ!

    Haha I seriously cant even tell you how many times I’ve repeated Isaiah 41:10 to everyone over these past few days 😀

  4. 7 Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) July 23, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    AWESOME post Nat! I definitely let fear overcome me at times, so thank you for this reminder that God will always be right by our sides no matter the circumstance!

  5. 9 In Sweetness and In Health July 24, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Fabulous post Nat!!! There are definitely times when I let fear overcome me and basically rule my life. And that’s definitely no way to live. Thank you so much for the reminder that we shouldn’t let fear overcome us and that we should turn to God for help :). I CANNOT wait to meet you in two days!!


Leave a Reply

