cucumbers and colors

It’s officially cucumber season in our household!  I’m picking an average of about 10-12 per DAY in the yarden.  Please keep in mind that it’s just Daniel and me here, so I have been busy figuring out some different ways to use our cucumbers (you can only eat so many plain or in salads).

So far, I have a few favorite ways of using our abundance of cukes.

Cukes

First, they are perfect for fresh juice.  This one was a no brainer considering how much I love making fresh green juice.

Greenjuice

The second way is another type of juicing, but it’s for later use in smoothies or blended juices.  I juiced about five million cucumbers and then poured the juice into ice cube trays and transferred to the freezer.  Once frozen, I put them in freezer bags.  Seriously, how easy is this?  Now whenever I want a little extra green in my smoothies, I can just pop a few cucumber cubes (not an appealing name if you ask me) in the blender and voila!  I’m also planning on using them in blended juices (I’m thinking pineapple, orange, spinach, and cucumber will be a perfect combination!).

Cukesicecubes

Finally, I used them in my quick pickles (also known as marinated cucumbers).  This is one of my favorite summertime snacks of all times.  

Slicedcukes

Quick Pickles

2-3 large pickling cucumbers or 1 regular cucumber

1 cup white vinegar

3/4 cup white granulated sugar

1/2 cup water

1 tsp salt

Thinly slice cucumbers (the mandolin made this very easy for me – I used the 1/8 inch setting) and place in bowl medium bowl.

Heat vinegar, sugar, water, and salt in a saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring constantly until sugar and salt are completely dissolved.  

Pour vinegar mixture over cucumber slices.

Let sit for about 15-20 minutes and then enjoy!  

(I prefer to chill mine before eating and then store in the refrigerator.)

Marinatedcukes

This is a quick and simple recipe that makes a great snack or the perfect side dish for a summer cookout or picnic.

With all the different ways to use these green beauties, I’m sure none of them will go to waste!

Now, how about something NOT green?  This is the pedicure I got today for vacation.  The guy who did it kept asking me if I was completely sure that was what I wanted.  Apparently he thought it was strange. 🙂  I like it.

Pedicure

Yes, I do know that two of my toenails are orange.  And yes, I know they are not the same toe on each foot.  I tried to blur out my super bony feet, but there was no way to fix the stubby pinky toes.  Sigh.

While we are on a color theme in this post (do you see it?  first everything was green, then neon pink and neon orange, and now…..), let’s take a look at one other little thing I had done recently.


Colortattoo

Just kidding!  Mom, are you okay?  Did I fool anyone????  When I get my next tattoo, I will definitely show y’all, I promise!  And don’t worry, no swirly pink flowers will be involved.  (source)

This is what I actually had done last week.

Bluehair

Blue streak underneath – I love it!  This isn’t something I did myself (I don’t do anything to my hair except wash and dry it – no dying, cutting, or anything like that for me).  It’s an AVEDA color treatment, in case you were wondering.

The colorful post now comes to an end.  Time to start packing!!!!!!!!!

much love,

natalie 

so tell me…

Do you have any recipes or serving suggestions for all my cucumbers that will be waiting for me when I get back???

What’s the most colorful thing on you at the moment?

16 Responses to “cucumbers and colors”


  1. 1 cyndiloohoo June 27, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    hahaha! i KNOW u would never get a tat like that! u r not exactly a flower/bows/butterfly/unicorn type of girl….(but neither am i)!
    what do u mean “that will be waiting for u?” i am looking forward to eating out of ur yarden!
    i love the blue streak but u have heard me say i wish i had flame red! big chunky streaks too!
    ur toes look fab! i so need a pedi! they r perfect for ur beach vaca!
    the most colorful thing on me right now? a spot on my white tank where i dripped fresh tomato on myself!!!
    xo~
    mom

  2. 3 notsodomesticated June 28, 2012 at 5:32 am

    I need to try pickling some cucumbers!! I love homemade pickles! And I love your idea of freezing the juice! Seriously, you have some great ideas. I’m so glad you’re sharing them with the rest of the world!!

  3. 5 In Sweetness and In Health June 28, 2012 at 6:15 am

    Okay, I LOVE your toe nail colors :D. And that’s too funny that the guy kept asking you if you were sure haha. Also, do you have a tattoo already? I’m nosy haha. You should make some sort of greek cucumber salad thing with cucumber, tomato and feta! Hope you have a great day love….love you ❤

  4. 7 Angie @ Pint of Goals June 28, 2012 at 8:33 am

    I didn’t even think to juice a cucumber – I’ll have to try that tomorrow with my new juicer 🙂
    Your toenails look great and fun – perfect for a vacay in Mexico!

  5. 9 Nicole June 28, 2012 at 8:47 am

    Love the colors on your toes!! That is the new fashion this summer and love your hair! Please no tats, I don’t think they are attractive at all, (just my opinion) Have a wonderful time in Mexico, is your whole family going? I’m behind on my blogs, just catching up. Great ideas for juicing. Have a beautiful day.

  6. 11 Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) June 28, 2012 at 8:53 am

    love the cucumber cubes idea! currently i have BLUE toes and i love them!

  7. 13 laurenacarter June 28, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Natalie,
    I finally decided to quit being a quiet stalker when I saw you had cucumbers!! YUM! They look so amazing! Oh and you fooled me with that tat! woah you scared me! Mikey asked me if I wanted one when we went to the beach and I said TOTALLY! Anyways, I hope you have a great vaca, and I will check on josh to make sure your house in order! LOVE YA!!!

  8. 15 Val @ Tips on Healthy Living June 29, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    Wow cucumber juice is such a great idea. I never would have thought to do that and put in a smoothie. I love cucumbers in water but have never tried straight cucumber juice. Did you use a juicer or a blender?


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

