chocolate peanut butter protein smoothie

Happy Wednesday!  Can you believe the week is already half over?  It may just happen to teachers, but it always seems like summer weeks go by wayyyy faster than weeks during the school year.  🙂

After completing a Brazilian butt workout and an ab workout this morning, I was craving something cold and sweet.  I’ve been on quite the smoothie kick lately, and today was no exception.  Yesterday I made a cookies ‘n cream smoothie that was delicious, but today I opted to go for a chocolate peanut butter smoothie.  Oh man, y’all, this was some kind of good.  I felt like I was having a milkshake!  

Chocpbsmoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese (trust me on this one – it gives it a super creamy milkshake consistency)
  • 1 scoop SunWarrior chocolate protein powder (you could use any chocolate protein powder you like)
  • 2 tbsp chocolate pb2
  • 2 tbsp sugar free Jello chocolate fudge pudding mix
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 4-5 drops vanilla stevia (or sweetener of choice)
  • 3/4 cup water (could use more or less depending on desired thickness)
  • 5-10 ice cubes (I think I used 8)

Blend all ingredients together and enjoy!

Not only was this smoothie delicious and creamy, but the nutritional stats blew me away.  Check it out.

Chocpbstats

Did you see that?!  Only 6 grams of sugar and a whopping 33 grams of protein!  BAM.  This smoothie is definitely going into the regular rotation, but I also plan on trying several other flavor combinations.  

In other news, my running has been better this week.  On Sunday, I had a fabulous 5.25 mile run before church.  It was a new loop so that kept it interesting (even though my little running buddy didn’t join me), and it felt about a million times better than last Thursday’s run.  Fueling made all the difference!  I am running with my friend Amy again tomorrow morning, and then I’m planning my first six miler for this weekend.  

Wednesdays are one of my favorite days now.  I train my client in the morning, but that’s the only thing I have scheduled for the entire day!  I am planning on heading to the pool for a bit, reading, doing my Bible study (soul detox), and finishing cleaning the grout in my bathroom (I know, I live an exciting life).  I’m also going to get to spend some time cooking tonight!  I don’t know just yet what I’m making, but I am excited!

I hope that y’all have a GREAT day!  

much love,

natalie

so tell me…

What are your plans today?  What day of the M-F week is your favorite?

Any requests for smoothie flavor combinations that you’d like to see?

14 Responses to “chocolate peanut butter protein smoothie”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated June 20, 2012 at 10:57 am

    That looks SO good!! I wish I had the ingredients in my house … I’d make it for lunch!!

    And where’s the cookies and cream recipe?? I want that one, too!

    • 2 natalie @ southern fit foodie June 20, 2012 at 11:03 am

      It was basically the same base, but take out the pb2. Swap the chocolate protein powder for cookies n cream powder, and swap the chocolate pudding mix for vanilla. Voila! You could also put some oreo thin crisps (or a regular oreo) in for a more authentic cookies n cream shake taste. 🙂

  2. 3 Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) June 20, 2012 at 11:03 am

    oh wow! this looks awesome! you can never go wrong with a peanut butter + chocolate combo! i might just have to make this for part of my lunch or a snack today. surprisingly i have pretty much all the ingredients on hand!

  3. 5 Andrea @ Andrea out loud! June 20, 2012 at 11:13 am

    yes please! ill take two. can you have them here by 4pm?
    🙂

  4. 7 pintofgoals June 20, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Today I am babysitting for twelve hours! Luckily the kids are super easy and I am currently lounging poolside while they play 🙂
    I have also been on a smoothie kick. Last night I tried a new smoothie inspired by you: frozen cherries, 1/5 frozen avocado, soy milk, and ice. It was yummy and had great texture.

  5. 9 In Sweetness and In Health June 20, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    I want that smoothie! It sounds delicious :). Hope you have a fantastic day pretty lady ❤

  6. 11 Michelle June 20, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Um that smoothie looks flippin’ amazing; I think I should come over so you can make it for me because I am WAY too lazy to do it myself 🙂

    P.S. I’m still working on convincing Paul that Tennessee is a must-visit place; I feel like progress is being made!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

The Lean Green Bean

