mango avocado ice cream

Hey hey my lovely blog friends!  I hope that you enjoyed your weekend and were able to celebrate Father’s day with the people you love.  

I got to spend the whole weekend with family, and it was wonderful.  On Saturday, Daniel and I went to his family reunion and were able to spend time with his siblings, parents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.  That night, we got together with my family and had a delicious dinner outside watching my little cousins play on their new playset (I will have to take pictures – it’s the coolest thing ever and I kind of want one for myself).  Sunday evening we went to my parents house for a big Father’s day dinner.  Daniel grilled the best pork chops in the history of the world, and we also had a plethora of other delicious treats: black-eyed peas, cornbread, pole beans, corn on the cob, and grilled squash and zucchini from our garden.  It was quite the meal.  After dinner, we headed outside and played whiffle ball and washers.  I completely sucked at whiffle ball, but I redeemed myself with washers.  I had never played before, but I completely dominated the game (I even beat my brother…..not that we’re competitive or anything).  We finished the night off by enjoying my mom’s homemade blackberry cobbler and vanilla ice cream.  It was pretty much the perfect night with my family.

love them

You’re probably wondering why I haven’t mentioned that ice cream yet, aren’t you?  Patience is a virtue, people.  😉  When it comes to ice cream, I don’t have much patience either, so let’s get right to that recipe.

This isn’t actually ice cream, but it sure does taste like soft serve!  Not only is this recipe delicious, but it is super simple with only three ingredients!

Mango Avocado “Ice Cream”

  • 1/2 avocado, frozen (peel and chop your avocado before freezing it)
  • about 3/4 or 1 cup frozen mango (I used one small champagne mango that I peeled and chopped myself)
  • 1/2 cup milk of choice (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

Blend all ingredients together and enjoy!

Mangoavocadoicecream

This is a healthy, scrumptious, sweet-relief-from-the-summer-heat treat.  I bought several avocados yesterday at the grocery store so that I can put them in the freezer and make this recipe again.  I can’t wait!  I think next time I’ll add in some coconut extract and use coconut almond milk.  I’ll let you know how it turns out. 

Enjoy the rest of your Monday!

much love,

nat

So tell me…

Have you used avocado in sweet recipes before?

What’s your favorite cold treat in the summer?   

14 Responses to “mango avocado ice cream”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated June 18, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Sounds like you had a great weekend!! I love that picture of you and your family … you look gorgeous!

    For some reason, I’m a little scared about making this soft serve with avocado! I just can’t imagine what it will taste like haha! But if you like it, then I’m sure I will!! 😉

  2. 3 In Sweetness and In Health June 18, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    Sounds like a great weekend girlie! You look so pretty in that pic :D. I still can’t quite imagine how avocado would taste in something sweet haha…but I guess I’ll just have to try it!

  3. 5 Michelle June 18, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Your ice cream looks delicious! I will have to try avocado in something sweet sometime 🙂 I think my favorite cold treat is crispy, juicy, watermelon to beat the summer heat.

  4. 7 Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) June 18, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    i’m so glad you were able to spend some quality time with your family! those times are the best. and your avocado ice cream sounds amazing! i’ve added half of an avocad to my smoothies before, and it makes them soooo creamy!

  5. 9 Angie @ Pint of Goals June 19, 2012 at 9:09 am

    I am definitely trying this tonight but I am all out of mango 😦 I do have frozen cherries, so we’ll see how that goes. I have been loving avocados lately – they keep my hunger at bay for a long time.
    Looks like you had a fantastic time with your family – all of that food sounds incredible!

  6. 11 Corrie Anne June 19, 2012 at 9:53 am

    I love avocado, but I usually tend to use it in more traditional ways like GUACAMOLE or sandwiches. Yum!! I need to branch out.

  7. 13 Baking Serendipity June 19, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    I’ve never frozen an avocado before…but I love it paired with mango! This is an awesome break from the frozen banana smoothies and ice cream I’ve been making lately 🙂


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

