running is hard

It’s FRIIIIIIDAAAAAAAYYYY!!! Who’s excited???

So, I’ve said before that running has never been easy for me.  It has gotten easier since my legs are very used to dancing like crazy for Zumba all the time, and I’m better shape in general.  As I’ve been training for my first half marathon, I’ve had some awesome runs.  I’ve also had some not-so-great runs (I blame the heat).  However, this week, I’ve had some awful awful runs.  One run actually turned into a walk, and the other almost killed me.  Instead of just saying it was a hard week, I knew there was more to the reasoning behind these discouraging runs.  

Lately, my digestive system has been all wonky, and I was trying everything I could possibly think of to get it back to normal.  Nothing was working, so I decided to do a detox for a few days.  I started Monday morning doing a version of the Master Cleanse, drinking tons of water and herbal tea, and taking a few supplements.  The first two days were no problem at all as far as hunger pains or weakness, but boy did it mess with my run.  On Wednesday my stomach was definitely feeling a lot better (buh-bye bloating), and I was feeling good overall.  Thursday morning, I set out to meet my gorgeous friend Amy to do my scheduled short run.  In the heat.  With no fuel in my body.  We started out strong and made a pit stop at mile 1 for a bathroom break, then at the end of mile 2 I told Amy I was going to have to walk for a bit.  She was sweet enough to walk with me, and after about a third of a mile I felt okay to run again.  We ran about one more mile back to our cars and walked for a few to cool down.  I thought I was going to die.  What in the world was I thinking?!?!?!?!  I tell people all the time about the importance of properly fueling your body for running and working out, but apparently that doesn’t apply to me haha.  I guess I thought since I was feeling okay that my run would be normal.  Wrong.  

Food is fuel

(source)

I drove home and juiced an apple, three small cucumbers, and a zucchini (not part of the cleanse, but I needed some nutrients).  It helped tremendously.  I decided that being as active as I was that it wasn’t reasonable to try to do the cleanse without adding some extra nutrients into my body.  I decided that watermelon would be a good food to ease back into a “regular” diet, so I cut a couple of pieces off.  It was the best watermelon in the whole world (or maybe I was just a tiny bit hungry).  I ended up eating about half the watermelon (it was a small seedless one) yesterday.  I also had some squash and zucchini from the garden (which are coming in like crazy, in case you were wondering).

So, the lesson for today is that our body needs fuel to function.  You wouldn’t try to to run your car without gas in it, so why try to push your body without any food in it?  Another lesson – I need to practice what I preach.  Seriously – I can’t believe I thought I would be okay.  Who did I think I was?  Wonder Woman???

Wonderwoman

(source)

From now on, I promise to fuel my body properly.  Speaking of, I need to know some of your favorite pre and post-run eats!  I need ideas for both short runs and long runs.  Help a girl out.

I hope that y’all have a GREAT weekend!  To all the dads out there, have a great father’s day weekend!

much love,

nat

so tell me…

have you ever worked out without properly fueling beforehand?  

tell me those pre and post workout eats!

12 Responses to “running is hard”


  1. 1 Michelle June 15, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    Sounds crazy but I really only remember the AMAZING runs when I finish and don’t feel SUPER drained or dead afterwards. I think my mind is trying to trick me into falling in love with running after those kinds of runs so I forget all the awful ones 🙂 I love noshing on a bagel with peanut butter before a run if I’m going in the morning; the carbs and protein stay with me without totally bloating me. Post-workout I will usually have a smoothie with some protein powder in it to aid in recovery. Keep taking care of yourself lady!

  2. 3 notsodomesticated June 15, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    On the flip side of not eating before running, I have a bad habit of running too soon after eating a big meal. Not good. It always results in me feeling completely nauseous and having to take walk breaks!!

  3. 5 ittybitsofbalance June 16, 2012 at 7:09 am

    Oh, I am DEFINITELY guilty of not fueling properly in the past– especially when I used to try to work out much more than necessary. Strangely, my body started to adapt to not eating enough and I wasn’t starving during the day, but I absolutely noticed that I wasn’t able to perform very well!

  4. 7 In Sweetness and In Health June 16, 2012 at 8:18 am

    Oh I’ve totally had times where I haven’t fueled properly before any kind of workout and I always feel so lethargic and blahh! It’s funny how we always seem to think that certain things won’t apply to us isn’t it? Hope you have a fantastic day pretty lady! LOVE YOU!!

  5. 9 Kailey June 16, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    Pancakes post run are my favorite 🙂
    I know what you mean about not fueling right – the workout is just miserable and puts me in a mental fog. I hate it.

  6. 11 Angie @ Pint of Goals June 17, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    If I am running more than five miles, I have two pieces of whole wheat toast with peanut butter, a banana, and iced coffee. When I run less than that in the morning right after waking up, I don’t eat anything before. After a long, hard, sweaty run, I often crave cheese (frozen bean and cheese burritos by Cedarlane or grilled cheese).
    Hope you had a good weekend and that your tummy is feeling better!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

