first little harvest and a workout

Happy Wednesday, people!  Am I the only one off on my days this week?  Long weekends AND being out of school means I have no idea what day it is at all.  I definitely thought yesterday was Monday all day long until it was time for me to figure out where I was teaching zumba last night.  

Since I know y’all want to know what goes on every second of my life, let’s start with Monday afternoon.

On Monday, Daniel and I hung out with my family at my cousin’s pool.  Of course we had to enjoy some delicious food before jumping in and swimming around (no, I didn’t wait 20 minutes or two hours or whatever).  I opted to skip the bun and just have bbq (pulled pork) and my dad’s famous hot slaw.  On the side I had a random combination of homemade cheesy salsa dip and guacamole, edamame, cheese, and a pickle.

Memday2012

As I took this picture, my cousin Jackson kept asking, “Nalale [how the boys say my name – it’s so cute – sounds like nah-la-lee], why you takin’ pictures of your foooooood?”  It was too funny, and I just ended up telling him I did it because I’m a weirdo and like pictures of food AND pictures of my favorite boys!

Memdayjackson

Before we could let the kiddos head out to the pool, we had some snake business to take care of.  I don’t know about y’all, but we have had more snakes this year than I can ever remember.  The first guy we found was coiled up in the yard, but thankfully he was already dead.  The other guy was in the koi pond and kept moving around under water.  He finally made a mad dash for the woods and got away.  He was almost three feet long!  

Snakecollage

After our pool time, we headed back home to check the garden and relax a little bit.  Guess what is coming in!!!!!!!!!!  Squash and zucchini!!!!!  We should have a few ready at the end of this week, but in the next two weeks I think we’ll be picking every single day.  I’m pumped!  I also picked some of my Brussels sprouts on Monday (apparently these are supposed to be planted and harvested wayyyy later than we did – oh well – we’re learning by trial and error here, people).  I hope that my cucumbers and tomatoes start coming in soon!  The rest of Monday night included lots of lounging around, playing with dogs, and some tv.

Hatfields and mccoys history channel miniseries

Anyone else watching this???  It was obviously Daniel’s choice, but now I’m sucked into the story.

Yesterday started out with a humid early-morning run.  I set my alarm for 5:30 (this is NOT what I expected to do on summer break, but oddly enough it didn’t bother me in the least) and I was out the door by six.  Instead of jogging to the park this morning, I decided to take my time and walk.  I ran 2.5 miles at the park and then walked by home just in time to kiss Daniel goodbye on his way to work.  For my post-workout meal I devoured a breakfast cookie made with mashed banana, sun warrior, almond milk, cinnamon, pb2, and a few chocolate chips.  It was incredibly delicious, and it sure didn’t last very long!  After cleaning up, I ran some errands and then came back home for lunch.  I roasted up my freshly picked Brussels sprouts and used them as a salad topper.  This baby has red leaf lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, freshly sliced smoked turkey, pickles (I know, I’m a little strange sometimes), edamame hummus, chia seeds, and a little cottage cheese.  Enjoying my first little harvest from the garden made the salad that much better!  I remembered about midway through my lunch that I meant to put avocado on it, but it was too late then.

Saladbeast

After an afternoon of cheer practice and then teaching SHRED, I started planning my workout for this morning.  Since it’s officially swimsuit season, I really want to focus on toning/firming/lifting my booty and my legs.  I found these two awesome Brazilian butt workouts the other night (via Pinterest, of course), and decided to give it a go this morning.  I have a feeling that I’ll definitely be sore!  This workout is on my pinterest workouts board, but since there is picture that could be offensive, I decided to retype it.  Please see the link for the original posting of this workout.

Buttworkout

 

Okay, I have definitely said WAY too much in this post!  I guess since it’s summer now I should go back to daily posts instead of cramming it all in to three posts per week (or maybe I should just talk/write less??).

 

So tell me…

Are you scared of snakes?  I’m not, but spiders are another whole story!

Have you ever tried the Brazil Butt Lift workouts (from the infomercials)?  I’ve always wanted to!

15 Responses to “first little harvest and a workout”


  1. 1 In Sweetness and In Health May 30, 2012 at 7:20 am

    Ewwww snakes and spiders haha. That salad looks soooo tasty!! Wanna make me one?! 😉 I’m gonna have to try that brazilian butt workout. My butt is always a place that’s hard for me to tone for some reason. I feel like I need to be toning everything right now for some reason. I went up a size in shorts yesterday because of my thighs and it sort of depressed me….I was praying last night to get my focus off of my body!

  2. 5 Faith @ For the Health of It May 30, 2012 at 7:43 am

    Your cheesy salsa dip looks absolutely delicious!

  3. 7 Andrea @ Andrea out loud! May 30, 2012 at 8:41 am

    never tried the butt workouts but i am terrified of snakes!!!

  4. 9 notsodomesticated May 30, 2012 at 8:50 am

    I’m definitely scared of snakes!! I don’t like spiders, but I certainly prefer them to snakes!! Yuck yuck!!!!

  5. 11 Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) May 30, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    definitely not much of a fan of snakes or spiders! i used to be scared of neither, but i’m finding that my fears are increasing as i get older! haha. looks like a great booty workout! enjoy your first week of summer! 🙂 xoxo

  6. 13 Angie @ Pint of Goals May 30, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Snakes and spiders both freak me out, but we don’t see many snakes in Wisconsin. As a fellow shorty, I have a short torso and hope to focus on my midsection and back for this summer. Any moves or tips?
    Glad to see you’re enjoying summer and getting lost in the days – isn’t it great when they don’t matter as much? I will be there in just over a week!

    • 14 natalie @ southern fit foodie May 30, 2012 at 9:19 pm

      I’m so excited for you to be finished soon! I’m hoping to do a post soon about my favorite back moves. Of course, for the tummy, we all know cardio and clean eats is best. I will say I think pullups (even assisted) do wonders for the back!


  1. 1 chocolate peanut butter protein smoothie « southern fit foodie Trackback on June 20, 2012 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

