Half Marathon Training: Day One

Okay, so remember when I said I couldn’t get it out of my head that I wanted to run a half marathon?  Well, I picked my race and officially started my training yesterday!  Guess which race I picked!

That’s right!  I’m going to the Windy City to run my very first half marathon!  The race takes place on Sunday, September 9.  Don’t worry, I promise to keep you updated on all of my running, training, fueling, etc.  As I am a complete novice in running, I will definitely need your help along the way!  I didn’t choose a specific training plan, but I have several printed out that I’m melding together to make a plan that works with my schedule (I have to make sure I’m not running too much on the days I’m teaching fitness classes).  Kristen was so sweet to offer me some insight from her training experiences, and I’m starting with two shorter runs each week and one long run on the weekend.  Yesterday was my first short run (and my first run in over a month), and I did about two miles at the park (it may have been a quarter mile more, but I’m not positive).  I definitely didn’t hit that “runner’s high” that I’ve had before, but I did get that crazy-happy endorphin high after the run.  It carried all the way into my SHRED class later last night, and I was probably the most annoying and peppy instructor last night! 🙂  I think I referred to wall sits as “fun” and plank walks as “awesome” haha.  However, that really isn’t all that different from how I normally am.  Apparently running is just going to make me even more obnoxious and energetic.  Be prepared!

This wasn’t even with a run or any exercise…just plain crazy Natalie.  Please look at that guy behind me…he definitely thinks I’m crazy!

Only one more day of giving exams, and then a half day with a few meetings, and then SUMMER!

So tell me…

If you have run a half marathon before, what training plan did you use?  Did you like it?

Any running/training tips or suggestions for me?

Have a blessed day, and I will see y’all on Friday with some workout ideas!

 

30 Responses to “Half Marathon Training: Day One”


  1. 1 pintofgoals May 23, 2012 at 6:03 am

    Yah Natalie! I’m so happy you’ll be running a half! What worked for me for training for this full was to just have two shorter runs and one longer run on the weekend, and I did this through the entire training. IMO, because you’re so active with teaching other cardio classes, you don’t “need” more – they can turn into junk miles and you can get injured. Again, that’s totally my opinion 🙂
    So I am incredibly bummed – there is a chance the Madison Marathon will cancel the full because of heat and humidity 😦 We find out on Friday. It’s frustrating to have worked for over 20 weeks for something that may not even happen.
    Whoa, sorry for the super long comment this morning. Have a great day!

  2. 3 notsodomesticated May 23, 2012 at 6:04 am

    Yay! Glad your first run went well!! 🙂 Just keep listening to your body and don’t do too much too fast! Can’t wait to hear more!

  3. 5 Faith @ For the Health of It May 23, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I just clicked over to your blog from PBF this morning, and I’m so excited to see someone else who’s tryng t o get things together for their first half! I haven’t 100% committed since I’m still using all of my effort to get through 4-5 miles, but I really want to do the St Augustine half this fall. How many miles per week are you currently running? I’m wondering if it’s possible to work up to 13.1 from where I’m at right now (10-15 miles per week) without totally burning out. At any rate, cant wait to follow along with the training!

  4. 9 In Sweetness and In Health May 23, 2012 at 8:43 am

    Hahahahaha that mans face behind you….priceless ;). And your eyes are sooo pretty!! Hope you have a great day girlie ❤

  5. 11 Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) May 23, 2012 at 10:36 am

    yay! i’m excited for you! haha i love that photo too. i’m all about being goofy! great job on your first run!

  6. 13 ittybitsofbalance May 23, 2012 at 10:47 am

    YEY! Congrats to making the “official” decision to do it!

    I would sayyyyy to make sure to listen to your body! When I was training for my first (and only haha) full marathon back in 2010, I wasn’t taking breaks when I started feeling soreness in my knees. Because of that, I had to take the last 3 weeks off RIGHT before the race, and “wing it” the day of.

    Needless to say, I will never run a full marathon again. haha 😉

  7. 15 janetha May 23, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Best of luck on your training! Good for you!

  8. 17 Jaime Tyson May 23, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    When I got ready for the half I did, I did a walk/run 3 days a week with a brisk walk on the days in between. Then Saturdays I would do 6-8 miles. Sundays I would rest. I was taught that by a friend who does the Disney half every year, but have done no research on my own. Are you going to explain why you chose the race in Chicago? Just a place you want to visit?

    • 18 natalie @ southern fit foodie May 23, 2012 at 4:15 pm

      That sounds like a good training plan to me! I don’t really care for the ones that have you running five times a week. I feel like, as a beginner, that could possibly lead to injury. I needed a half marathon in early fall since the best time for me to train is during the summer, and I wanted a “big” race with a lot of energy and people. Chicago fit that description, it’s affordable to travel there (via train), and I’ve always wanted to go!

  9. 19 Tiff (@LoveSweatBeers) May 24, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Good luck – that’s exciting! I finished my first in Feb. I’d do the most gradual plan you can find; that worked well for me. I still met my sub 2-hr goal. I would also focus on specific & functional strength training early on. I did that for my feet, which was great, but I wish I had also done it for my hips.

  10. 21 kbwood May 24, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    AHHH get it gurrrrl!! You are awesome! Ive never trained for a half or a full marathon.. but my dad has done some!

  11. 23 Sarah May 25, 2012 at 12:08 am

    How cool! I just found your blog, and I’m also training for a half marathon, and I’m also a noob 😀 but mine’s in November, so I have a month more time to train.


  1. 1 It’s Official! « southern fit foodie Trackback on May 25, 2012 at 3:40 pm
  2. 2 Recent eats and my first “long” run « southern fit foodie Trackback on May 28, 2012 at 10:11 am
  3. 3 whirlwind weekend and the return of hot yoga « southern fit foodie Trackback on June 12, 2012 at 10:37 am
  4. 4 playing catch (up) « southern fit foodie Trackback on June 25, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

