Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Juice

It’s Monday again!  Is anyone else excited???  I know I am, and I bet you know why.  It’s my very last Monday before summer break.  It’s exam week at school, and then it’s onto my favorite time of year. 🙂  At any given time this summer you will be able to find me lounging poolside, reading, doing workouts after the sun comes up, reuniting myself with the kitchen, or working in our garden.  You know what sounds good with any and all of those things?  Fresh juice!

On Sundays, Daniel and I like to prep our food for our lunches and some dinners during the week.  Since this week is half days for the kids, I’ll probably have a longer lunch time and will most likely run to Jason’s Deli or someplace with my coworkers.  I did make a potentially awesome sandwich for lunch tomorrow (unfortunately I forgot to take pictures while assembling, but I’m sure I’ll have another chance soon).  I topped a multi grain sandwich thin with roasted red pepper edamame hummus, fresh lettuce from the farmers market, sliced cucumber, sliced carrots, pickles, and a fried egg.  I am so excited for lunch tomorrow!  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Anyway, back to the juice.  Since I really didn’t have anything else to cook, I decided to break out the Jack Lalanne juicer and see what I could put together.  I used some fruits and veggies and just kept adding until I had a good amount of juice.  I added in some pure carrot juice from Trader Joe’s to the juice mixture, and both Daniel and I thought the final product tasted great.

Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Juice

*note – this makes a LOT of juice, about 1 or 1.5 pints

Ingredients

  • one large orange (peel removed, but white pith left on for added nutrients)

  • about two cups of fresh baby spinach

  • one large Fuji apple (cut into large pieces removing core)

  • one cucumber

  • one stalk of celery (about 8-10 ribs)

  • one zucchini

  • about two cups of fresh carrot juice (added AFTER juicing)

Juice all ingredients together according to your juicer’s instructions and then add carrot juice to the fruit and veggie juice mixture.  Enjoy!

Don’t be scared of the green juice. 🙂  I promise it’s tasty!  If you let this sit any time at all, you will need to shake or stir it because it will separate (I just accidentally typed celebrate instead of separate…if my juice starts celebrating I’ll let you know ha).  If you don’t like the taste of certain vegetables (like celery since it is a predominate flavor in this juice), simply switch up the veggies and find what works for you.  Enjoy!

I’m reusing my glass chocolate milk jug until I get it refilled next weekend

I hope that you have a great day!

So tell me…

Would you try this green juice?

What combination should I try next???

18 Responses to “Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Juice”


  1. 1 pintofgoals May 21, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    Yum, this looks so refreshing! My coworkers always give me a hard time about my green smoothies, so I can’t imagine what they’d say about this juice. This does make me want a juicer – what kind do you have?

  2. 3 notsodomesticated May 21, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    I need to get myself a juicer. Brandon and I just watched an infomercial for one this weekend, and it made me really want one!!

  3. 5 Michelle May 21, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    If I showed that to Paul I’m pretty sure we would have a new juicer in our kitchen; he can get pretty extreme with making orange juice though and our grocery budget can only be stretched so far 😉

  4. 9 Andrea @ Andrea out loud! May 21, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    Im so jealous! juicing seems so delish and fun!!
    I would def try the green stuff if i could!

  5. 11 janae@hungryrunnergirl.com May 22, 2012 at 11:31 am

    You seriously inspire me so much to start juicing! I need to get into this, yours sounds amazing! I love that you guys do all the prep on Sundays, that is so smart!

  6. 13 kbwood May 22, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    GIRL that is so crazy you commented because I JUST was thinking about you and about to come to your blog! YOU ARE SO ENCOURAGING! you are like a little sunshine!! I need your wisdom poured out onto me!


  1. 1 Wheatgrass Juice Recipe – How to Make Wheatgrass Taste Good! | juicing recipes Trackback on May 25, 2012 at 4:47 am
  2. 2 running is hard « southern fit foodie Trackback on June 15, 2012 at 1:30 pm
  3. 3 cucumbers and colors « southern fit foodie Trackback on June 27, 2012 at 9:24 pm
  4. 4 Making Vegetable Juices Recipes | juicing recipes Trackback on July 7, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Leave a Reply

