Farmer’s Market Haul

Hey hey!  I hope you are enjoying your Saturday so far!

This morning, I went to a community event with some of my friends from Solus.  We did a warm up and demonstrated stretching techniques before the participants set out on a walk/run through downtown Jackson.  Since I was already downtown, I decided to head over to the farmer’s market after the event.

Today was the first day that the market had a full house, and it made me so excited to think about all the options that will be available there this summer!  I love going to the market on Saturday mornings in the summer – talking with the local farmers, sampling products, smelling the fresh berries, enjoying the hot summer breeze…it’s the perfect way to start a weekend if you ask me.

I was excited to find some good tomato plants, zucchini and squash plants, cucumber plants, and jalapeno plants.  I think I might have paid around $35 for everything together, and it was quite the haul.  It overjoys me to think that spending $35 up front and then growing these in our garden will keep us from buying imported produce at the grocery store for a long time.

The tomato plants are already fairly large, and I cannot wait to get them in the ground!  I bought two Cherokee Purple tomato plants and one other type.  I can’t remember the name (and I’m too lazy at the moment to go outside and look) of the other type.

I bought eight jalapeno plants today, but we may end up planting more.  We go through fresh jalapenos with incredible speed at this house, and we also plan on pickling some this year.  I bought regular cucumbers and pickling cucumbers as well.  Who wants to come over late summer and help me for a full weekend?  I’ll teach you my grandmother’s recipe for homemade bread and butter pickles!  I’ll even let you star in your very own vlog (and you may even get the window unit from my kitchen as a bonus prize). 🙂


After loading up my car with my vegetable plants, I wandered around the other venders and came away a few awesome finds.

Fresh rosemary!  I cannot wait to use this!

Fresh crab cakes!!!  I cannot tell you how awesome these are.  There is a couple that drives from Florida to our farmers market every weekend, and they have the best fresh seafood ever.  I love these crab cakes because they are FULL of crab, and they are spicy!

Fresh chocolate milk – this stuff was a total impulse buy.  It is crazy delicious.

I’m about to get ready and go to a bridal shower for my niece, and then tonight we are attending the wedding and reception of my sweet friend, Cara.  It should be a great night!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend!

So tell me…

What is your favorite thing to get at the farmers market?

What are you up to this weekend?

12 Responses to “Farmer’s Market Haul”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated May 5, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    Love the look of your blog! 🙂 Have fun at the shower and wedding! Lots of fun events! I have to go back into work this afternoon for a meeting, but then Brandon and I are hoping to meet up with friends from church for dinner! 🙂

    • 2 natalie @ southern fit foodie May 5, 2012 at 12:59 pm

      Thanks, girl. I’m trying to make it look better! It will probably get a complete makeover this summer. I may need your help, haha.

      Hopefully your meeting will go by quickly and you will get to enjoy a fun dinner with friends! Have a great night!

  2. 3 pintofgoals May 5, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    I love getting everything for a big salad from the farmers’ market, but unfortunately, our season starts later than yours and we still have a month or so until we gets lots of produce.
    Have fun at the shower and wedding!

  3. 5 Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) May 5, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    how fun! i LOVE farmer’s markets! i can’t wait until our’s opens. i love all the fresh produce. it’s so yummy and inexpensive! have a great rest of your day girl!

  4. 7 ittybitsofbalance May 6, 2012 at 6:14 am

    Wow, your blog is looking pretty spiffy over here in your little corner of the internet 😉

    To be honest, I can’t even remember the last time I went to the farmer’s market! It’s actually pretty sad, I used to love going when I was younger. I need to find one so I can get some of that fresh chocolate milk!


  1. 1 My garden, y’all… « southern fit foodie Trackback on May 8, 2012 at 9:39 pm
  2. 2 Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Juice « southern fit foodie Trackback on May 21, 2012 at 5:25 am
  3. 3 Cherokee Purple Tomato | Landscaping - Gardening Trackback on May 31, 2012 at 8:46 am
  4. 4 playing catch (up) « southern fit foodie Trackback on June 25, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

