Cheesy Garlic Spaghetti Squash

It’s almost Friday!!!!  Three weeks from right now I’ll be finished giving my last final exams, and I’ll be one short in-service day away from summer break.  Sorry if that makes you jealous, but it makes me EXTREMELY excited!  I promise to try my best not to mention it every day from now until then.

Last week, I picked up a couple of spaghetti squash at Kroger, and last night seemed like the perfect time to make a low-carb squash-filled dinner.

Cheesy Garlic Spaghetti Squash

Ingredients:

  • one spaghetti squash

  • garlic hummus (about 1/4 cup)

  • goat’s milk creamy cheese (maybe 1-2 tbsp)

  • nutritional yeast (2 tbsp)

  • garlic powder

  • two light swiss Laughing Cow cheese wedges

  • one green bell pepper, chopped

  • button mushrooms, chopped (8-10 medium mushrooms)

  • two chicken jalapeno sausages (I used Trader Joe’s)

  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (or 225 if it’s our crazy oven).

Cut spaghetti squash in half lengthwise, and scoop out seeds.  Place both halves face down on a baking sheet or stone.  Cook for 30-40 minutes.

While the squash is cooking, cook the pepper and mushrooms in a skillet over medium or medium-high heat until soft.  Chop the chicken sausages (they are fully cooked already) and add them to the skillet until they are warmed through.

After removing from oven, use a fork to carefully “scrape” out the squash strands.  I hold the squash in a thick dish towel so I don’t burn my hands. 🙂  You could let it cool some first, but I was too hungry for that.

Add nutritional yeast, cheese wedges, garlic powder, goat cheese, and garlic hummus to hot squash and mix thoroughly (I feel like using two forks is the best way to get it combined quickly and completely).

 

Mix the chicken sausage, mushroom, and pepper mixture with the squash.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Dig in and enjoy!

This made four full size dinner portions, but you could also divide into eight side dish servings.  Daniel and I both really enjoyed this low-carb, healthy, and delicious dinner.  We had enough leftovers for my lunch today and one other meal (probably my lunch again tomorrow).  I can tell you that while the other teachers were eating hot cafeteria lunch, I was extremely thankful for my leftovers.

I’m heading off to bed since I have an early morning training session with Martha – I think we will be meeting at the park for a suspension trainer workout followed by some box jumps, step ups, walking, and abs.

I hope you have a fabulous Friday!

So tell me…

Do you use spaghetti squash often?

8 Responses to “Cheesy Garlic Spaghetti Squash”


  1. 1 Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) May 4, 2012 at 11:12 am

    holy yum!! cheesy delicious goodness! i love spaghetti squash, but i haven’t done much with it other than top it with marinara & turkey meatballs. i need to venture out and make this recipe!

  2. 3 In Sweetness and In Health May 4, 2012 at 11:32 am

    That looks soooo delicious!! I’ve eaten but never made spaghetti squash before, but I know that I would love this recipe :). Hope you have a great Friday!!! ❤

  3. 5 notsodomesticated May 4, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    Hey good job remembering to take pictures, my friend!! 😉 Believe it or not, I’ve never cooked with spaghetti squash! I’m actually preparing my first ever butternut squash this weekend … I made a vegetarian chili in the slow cooker. Yes, it’s hot as can be here, so chili seems weird … but it’s nice and cool in the hotel room haha!

  4. 7 pintofgoals May 4, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    I haven’t cooked with spaghetti squash yet – something about it makes me nervous. I do love squash though, so I guess next time I’m at the store, I should pick one up.
    I am jealous that you only have 16 days! I have over twenty. It’ll be here before we know it!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

