Ahhhhmazing

Not only was this past weekend amazing, but a couple of the items we picked up at Trader Joe’s also earned the prestigious amazing rank.

TJ’s always suckers me in by offering samples of new products along with coffee.  Since it was very warm, I skipped the coffee but grabbed a free sample of almond cookies with their new cocoa almond spread.

(source)

I think the name alone lets you know that this is going to be delicious.  When I saw the jar, I expected more of a chocolate almond butter, but this product is much thicker and incredibly smooth.  It’s almost like fudge.  Obviously, the nutrition stats aren’t the greatest since this is a decadent treat, but once you taste it you forget all about those pesky little numbers (if only that made them not count, right?).  After sampling one tiny bite of this cocoa almond spread, I quickly grabbed a jar to take home (after paying for it first, of course).

Last time I got to make a Trader Joe’s run, they were out of their famous Cookie Butter, so I HAD to get some this time.

(source)

It’s just as good as everyone in the blogosphere says it is!  It tasted extremely familiar to me, even though I’ve never had this product before.  I thought for a few minutes, and then it hit me.  It tastes just like the Biscoff cookies they hand out on airplanes.  One of my friends at work brought in some Biscoff spread that WalMart carries, and the taste is basically identical to TJ’s Cookie Butter.  So, if you’re anything like me and don’t live very close to a Trader Joe’s, you can still get your cookie butter fix.  In case you’ve never had Biscoff cookies, I think they are the love child of ginger snaps and graham crackers (ginger crackers?  graham snaps?  snap crackers?).

Both of these products are great on their own, but together, they are a deadly heavenly combination.  I have to keep them hidden behind other healthier items in the pantry so I don’t consume both jars completely.

Don’t worry, these delicious treats were added to balance out all our healthy purchases from the shopping trip.  We also found frozen fire roasted corn, jalapeno chicken sausages (which will be featured in a recipe in tomorrow’s post!), crunchy curls, black bean and quinoa infused tortilla chips, dark chocolate, unsweetened dried mango, and a few other things.  Looking back, I guess we did buy more treats than anything else.  Oops!

Have a great Friday-Eve!  Can you believe the weekend is almost here already (not that I’m complaining)?!

So tell me…

Have you ever tried Cookie Butter or Biscoff spread?

8 Responses to “Ahhhhmazing”


  1. 1 Arleen Reed May 2, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Is the Cocoa Almond Spread similar to Nutella? It is one of my weaknesses!

  2. 3 notsodomesticated May 3, 2012 at 5:32 am

    I need to find that spread at Walmart … I really like those cookies they serve on airplanes, so I’m sure I’d love that spread! Of course, it might be dangerous around here!!! 😉

  3. 5 Michelle May 3, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    OMG; I’ve never seen those spreads before but I’m going to search TJ’s high and low next time I’m there for them. YUM!

    • 6 natalie @ southern fit foodie May 3, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      The cocoa almond spread is apparently new, so hopefully it will be on a big display like it was in Nashville! I found the cookie butter in about four different places throughout the store, so I’m sure you can find it too! Let me know what you think!

  4. 7 In Sweetness and In Health May 3, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    Oh man both of those sound incredibly tasty!! I need to try a cookie spread. I’m pretty sure I would be in love with it haha. And I would definitely have to hide it from myself. Hope the rest of your night is great! ❤


Leave a Reply

