Weekend Recap

Better late than never, right?  My internet issues resolved themselves today, so you can all breathe a deep sigh of relief.  😉

This past weekend can be described in one simple word: amazing!

On Friday night, I got in a sweaty workout, enjoyed Panera take-out with Daniel, and tackled another flat of strawberries, which turned into quite a comical vlog tutorial.

Saturday morning, we headed for Nashville around 8.  We arrived at our hotel by 10 a.m. and were quickly checked in.  Since it was race weekend, we didn’t want to pay the high dollar price for a room downtown.  Instead, we opted to stay a few exits away at a modest yet updated Holiday Inn.  I was actually quite impressed with the room.  After getting everything situated, we drove to nearby Opry Mills, which recently reopened after major flood damage nearly two years ago.  I found a few cute things at Forever 21, but that was about it.  Much to Daniel’s joy, I’m not a big shopper.  I think it’s mainly because I’m frugal and somewhat impatient, so shopping at a big mall doesn’t suit my personality hahaha.  Now, online shopping – that’s a different story!  In fact, I already ordered a few things online that I saw at the mall on Saturday but didn’t want to stand in line to purchase.

The food court at the mall smelled delicious, but after seeing the lines at every single place and hearing all the kids banging their tambourines (apparently some place was giving away free noise makers to all kids – genius), Daniel and I decided to drive to East Nashville and find some lunch.  We first stopped at Marche Artisan Foods, but then realized they were only serving items from their brunch menu, which looked delicious, but contained mostly breakfast items, which we weren’t really in the mood for.  We walked a little way and ended up stopping at a place called Battered and Fried (not the type of place I would normally choose, but we were so incredibly hungry by this point) and grabbed a table outside.  I was excited to find that they also had a sushi bar, and I ordered a red dragon roll and a spicy tuna roll.

Both rolls were quite tasty, but I couldn’t finish them all because I was saving room for some frozen yogurt!

Daniel and I drove around East Nashville for a bit, stopped at Sweet CeCe’s for froyo, and then headed back towards the hotel to chill before dinner.  I ended up taking a little nap before we got ready and went to a new-t0-me restaurant, The Silly Goose.  I cannot say enough good things about this cool little place, but I can say that I’ll definitely be going back!  They buy all their ingredients from local farmers, and you can tell that each dish is made to order.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t in blogger mode this night, so I didn’t take any food pictures.  I did mange to get this one of Daniel and me before our food arrived!

Have I mentioned how much I love Instagram for Android???

Daniel ordered their dinner special, which was a pork chop with pureed sweet potatoes and roasted vegetables.  I ordered the Saylor sandwich, which is grilled eggplant, roasted red pepper, avocado, basil, arugula, lemon-kalamata olive aioli on grilled ciabatta.  Instead of a side salad or roasted vegetables, I opted for one of their famous grain salads.  I chose the small portion of the Albert Prince, a cold salad with organic quinoa, sweet potatoes, black beans, avocado, roasted tomatillos, spiced pepitas, manchego, and orange vinaigrette.  Needless to say, my meal was incredible.  However, the items that truly stole the show was our appetizer, the Flower Shop.  Roasted mushrooms, black pepper mascarpone, artichokes, walnut pesto, and mustard pinot noir emulsion – yeah, I kept mmm-ing with each and every bite.

As fun as Saturday was, Sunday was my favorite part of the weekend, because I got to meet Kristen from Confessions of a (not so) Domesticated Newlywed!  She ran the Music City Half Marathon on Saturday, and she and her husband, Brandon, were sweet enough to spend a couple of hours with us at Mad Donna’s before they headed back home to Atlanta.  Kristen was incredibly sweet and adorable, and we definitely hit it off.  We are already planning another weekend get together this summer.

The food at Mad Donna’s is always great, but instead of describing each dish, I’ll let the pictures do the talking (yay for remembering to actually use my camera!!!).

Kristen’s choice – served with sweet potato fries!

Brandon’s show stopping Captain Crunch French toast

Daniel went with his favorite – chorizo

fresh crabcakes + eggs benedict = heaven

We talked for a couple of hours over our delicious foods, and then it was time to say our goodbyes, but not without another picture!  Daniel and Brandon were stoked that they were able to take pictures of us, and they really loved it when we made them retake pictures with different poses and lighting.  We’re both lucky girls to have such patient men!

Before heading back home, Daniel and I made the necessary run to Trader Joe’s, where we found all kinds of goodies!  After such a perfect weekend, I am already anxiously awaiting our next weekend trip to Nashville.

Before this post gets any wordier, I better wrap it up!  Have a great Wednesday!!!

So tell me…

Have you ever been to Nashville???

8 Responses to “Weekend Recap”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated May 2, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    Aww yay!!! Love it! It was soooo great meeting you. Can’t wait for our next weekend visit!! 🙂

  2. 3 pintofgoals May 2, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Your orange dress is adorable!!! Was that an online purchase?

  3. 5 ittybitsofbalance May 3, 2012 at 6:40 am

    Haha! Ohhhh I know the whole “taking pictures in different lighting” thing far too well. And so does Will 😉

    It looks like you had a great weekend– especially since you got to meet Kristen! Maybe one day we’ll be lucky enough to have one big meetup together


  1. 1 Ahhhhmazing « southern fit foodie Trackback on May 2, 2012 at 8:49 pm
  2. 2 Farmer’s Market Haul « southern fit foodie Trackback on May 5, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Leave a Reply

