Lower-Sugar Homemade Strawberry Jam

Growing up, my grandmother and I were extremely close.  I was the youngest of all her grandchildren (my brother and I are about 15 years younger than the other grandkids), and we had a very special bond.

I used to love to go spend the night at her house (which is now the house Daniel and I own – incredible sentimental value in this place for me), and there were always a few things I could count on when staying at Mamaw’s.

1. Playing games – dominoes, checkers, cards, crooked words and crossed answers (I think this one was her own invention, but I loved it)

2. Zebra cakes – she always had a secret stash of snack cakes, and there was always a special pack of zebra cakes saved just for me (at Christmas it would be the Christmas tree cakes) – we rarely had snack cakes at home, so this was a treat for me

3. Stories – every time I spent the night, Mamaw would rub my back and tell me her original story “Clydie and the Lighthouse” – I can still tell this story word for word

4. Pimiento cheese – this was a staple snack along with some saltine crackers

5. Breakfast – homemade biscuits, bacon, and homemade pear preserves or strawberry jam

I used to think that Mamaw had a secret strawberry jam recipe, and that it was some crazy complex process.  Well, friends, this was her secret: the recipe on the back of the sure-jell box. 🙂

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to hang out with my parents and make some freezer strawberry jam.  I had some today, and man, it was good.  My grandmother would probably be shocked that I reduced the sugar to a very minimal amount in this recipe, but I think she would be proud.

Lower-Sugar Strawberry Jam

1 box lower sugar sure-jell (the pink box)

6-8 cups fresh strawberries

1/2 cup Truvia

1 cup granulated sugar

Start by rinsing and capping the fresh strawberries.

Measure out 6-8 cups of berries after they are capped.

Lightly crush or chop berries (I leave them in large chunks since they cook down so much).  Add berries and box of sure-jell to a large pot over high heat, and bring to a rolling boil, stirring frequently.

Add sugar (or in this case, Truvia and just a little regular sugar) and boil for one minute.  Remove from heat and let sit for 5 minutes.  Skim the “foam” off the berry mixture.  Transfer jam into clean jars (I use a mug as a ladle and a funnel to help keep everything clean).

(you can see my grandmother in the center of this picture in a framed picture – she’s wearing one of those funny glasses/nose/mustaches)

Top jars with lids (soaking in boiling water) and rings.  Set aside to cool overnight, then transfer to refrigerator or freezer.

EAT JAM.

I would count this recipe as “one batch” of jam, and using one flat of strawberries (8 quarts), I made three batches.  By following this lower-sugar recipe, three batches equaled about 28 jars.

It is a little time consuming, but I promise it’s not hard!  In my opinion, it is definitely worth it to make your own jam – every time you have a bite, you are reminded of the work and love you put into it.  And for me, it’s always a reminder of my sweet Mamaw.

I hope you have a wonderful Wednesday!

So tell me…

Have you ever made your own jam/jelly before? If so, what kind?

 

 

4 Responses to “Lower-Sugar Homemade Strawberry Jam”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated April 25, 2012 at 8:26 am

    Oh wow, I really want to do this! I’ve never made jams or jellies before, but you make it look surprisingly easy!!


  1. 1 For Your Entertainment « southern fit foodie Trackback on April 27, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

