Busy Doesn’t Always Equal Productive

Happy Monday night, blog friends!  I hope that you had a wonderful weekend and a marvelous Monday!

My weekend was pretty busy – two birthday parties, one bachelorette party, church, a bridal shower, and time with out-of-town family.  It was a good one, but there wasn’t much relaxing around this house.

I took off work today and had a full to-do list that I wanted to tackle.

Some things that were on the list:

  • do all laundry and PUT IT AWAY

  • go to the bank

  • grocery shopping

  • call consignment shop and set up appointment

  • work on new choreo for classes

  • prep food for week

  • write out meal plan for lunches and dinners

  • plus about ten more things.

Guess how many things I marked off that list?  ONE.  (Hey, it’s better than none, right?)  I did manage to go to Kroger and buy groceries.

Before you start thinking that I lounged around in my pajamas and ate bon bons all day (I don’t get this expression – who really does that?), let me explain.  I did sleep in, which was much needed after the weekend, but then I spent a good hour playing on the computer.  Oh wait, that’s not helping my case much, is it?  Moving on, I got a call from my parents that they were headed to Green Acres farm to pick up fresh strawberries.  This place has the BEST strawberries, and during the season they sell out every single day.  In my family, fresh strawberries mean one thing – JAM.  After talking with parents, I quickly got ready and went to the grocery store then headed to their house to start making jam.  My mom made  78 jars of the “regular” recipe, and I made 28 of a healthier, low sugar recipe.  I only used half my strawberries, so it looks like I will get another 28 jars made sometime this week.  I’ll have my lower-sugar recipe for you tomorrow, along with some strawberry pictures!

After making jam, I rushed to the gym to teach cardio dance and abs, then went to another gym to teach zumba.  I kept finding bits of strawberry jam on me during classes (on my hands, my arms, in my hair…), but I just used it to refuel.  Kidding. 😉

Daniel cooked a delicious dinner of fish tacos, and I’m about to head to bed.  I’m meeting some people at the gym at 5:30 in the morning for an intense workout – I’m excited!

Even though today felt pretty busy, I wouldn’t say it was extremely productive.  Maybe one of these days I’ll actually get my laundry put away…

So tell me…
What was the best part of your Monday?

Was it a productive day for you, a busy day, or a relaxing day?

10 Responses to “Busy Doesn’t Always Equal Productive”


  1. 1 Nicole April 23, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    I love strawberry jam and fish tacos!!

  2. 3 Kimberly Boots April 23, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    The best part of my day today was ZUMBA…hands down! Pretty busy day, not quite sure how productive it really was though. So glad you could bring a little sunshine to my day! 🙂 You should totally do another vlog with your strawberry jam! It sounds yummy!

  3. 5 ittybitsofbalance April 24, 2012 at 5:04 am

    Haha Will and I were planning to go strawberry picking this weekend too, but got rained out 😦 Boooo.

  4. 7 notsodomesticated April 24, 2012 at 5:50 am

    Aww I’m so jealous of your fresh strawberry jam! That sounds amazing!

    Monday night was my first night at Lifetime. I was pooped by the time I got home! 😉

  5. 9 Andrea @ Andrea out loud! April 24, 2012 at 10:17 am

    so funny! If i have a giant to do list like that and only do one thing on it, it is usually grocery shopping too 🙂 haha I consider relaxing productivity at times because sometimes you NEED that!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

