Chocolate Coconut Smoothie

First, I want to thank you for all the sweet and encouraging comments on last night’s post!  Y’all are the best!  I’ve officially decided that I’m going to choose a half marathon that takes place sometime in the next year, train hard, and run that sucka!  🙂  Don’t worry – you know I’ll keep you posted with my every move.

Now about that smoothie…

The only thing on my mind last night was a smoothie.  After teaching a dance to my cheerleaders, teaching hiphop, then teaching SHRED, I was incredibly HOT (I think I was sweating through my shoes), tired, and hungry.  Daniel had some leftovers heated up for me when I walked in, so the smoothie craving got put on hold.  Before going to bed, I set out all the things I would need this morning to fulfill that craving.  A little planning always helps!

It was quite an ugly gray/green/brown color, so I’ll spare you the picture.  Just use your imagination haha.

Into the blender went:

  • 8-10 ice cubes

  • slightly less than one scoop Optimum Nutrition Performance Whey in chocolate shake

  • 2 cups fresh baby spinach (this is what gave my breakfast its beautiful color)

  • 1 tbsp Hershey’s special dark cocoa powder

  • 1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese (extra protein!!!)

  • a pinch of xanthan gum (this makes the smoothie so thick and luscious)

  • 4 tbsp organic unsweetened low fat finely shredded coconut

  • 1/2 tsp coconut extract

  • 1/2 tsp Mexican vanilla extract

  • a little sprinkle of Truvia

  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond coconut milk

Man, oh man, was this tasty!  It was poured into a large cup and taken to my morning coaches meeting (where it got some strange looks from my coworkers – nothing new here).  It was about 400 calories, which may be a lot for some people, but I prefer a filling breakfast that has a lot of staying power.  It had 38 – yes, 38! – grams of protein!

*To make just a chocolate smoothie, simply leave out the shredded coconut and coconut extract, and use unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or other milk of your choice).

In case you are weirded out by the addition of spinach, just trust me – you don’t even taste it.  It tastes just as chocolate-coconutty as ever, but I know that I’m also getting the healthy punch of raw spinach.  You can check out some of the known health benefits of spinach here.

(source)

The same thing goes for the cottage cheese.  Even if you don’t like the texture of it, it blends up completely smooth in this smoothie.  It adds a creaminess to the recipe, and it adds extra calcium and protein.  Give it a shot – I think you’ll like it.

So tell me…

What’s your favorite smoothie recipe?

Do you ever add spinach to your smoothies?

6 Responses to “Chocolate Coconut Smoothie”


  1. 1 pintofgoals April 18, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    I always put spinach in my smoothies – you are right in that you don’t taste it at all. My favorite smoothie includes ice, milk, frozen banana, pb, and spinach. I have seen other bloggers use xanthan gum but have no idea where I would find it. Online? Health food store? Where did you get yours?

  2. 3 cyndiloohoo April 18, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    here’s my favorite that makes one good for breakfast, be satisfied & energized & feeling great smoothie:

    1 cup orange juice,not from concentrate orange juice (tropicana 50 rocks!)
    2 tablespoons steel cut oats
    3/4 cup non fat greek yogurt (yay chobani! i use the blueberry or orange vanilla or plain)
    1 1/2 cups frozen blueberries (yummmmmy!)
    3 cups baby spinach leaves (i pluck stems!)
    1 1/2 cups crushed ice or more!
    combine ingredients (juice, yogurt, oats then bluesberries, top with spinach, then crushed ice) in ur blender or kitchen ninja (i love mine!) and puree (u probably will need to run it a while). serve immediately. makes 1 giant smoothie or 2 smaller smoothies. i love it and like u said, u don’t even taste the spinach (which i love but not usually with my fruit!).
    and the GREAT news: a full-sized smoothie has 1.8 grams of fat, 8.3 grams of fiber, 21.6 grams of protein, and is loaded with potassium, vitamin c, folate, calcium, and iron. it has a serving of dairy, 3 vegetable servings, and 4 servings of fruit AND as we all know from u, u can up the protein by adding additional protein powder!

  3. 5 notsodomesticated April 19, 2012 at 6:01 am

    Oh yeah, spinach in smoothies is great! Like you said, you can’t taste it at all!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

