My fastest run ever!

It’s almost Friday, people!  Get excited!!!

Did you realize that tomorrow is Friday the 13th?  Pretty spooky, huh?  To balance out the creepiness that can come with an eery Friday the 13th, it’s also our four and a half year anniversary tomorrow!  (Just in case you were wondering, we didn’t get married on a Friday; it was a Saturday.)  I choose to celebrate the happy occasion instead of falling into the whole watch scary movies and freak yourself out thing.  In case you didn’t know, I don’t watch scary movies, and if I am forced to do so, I will make jokes the entire movie so I won’t be scared – this is highly entertaining to everyone…or maybe it’s just me.  Even if I do that, I will still sleep with my light on (yes, I’m five) or have bad dreams – or both.  I digress… back to the real reason for this post.

Today I ran my fastest run EVER.  Sounds impressive right?  Let me tell you just how impressive this is!

First, I quickly scribbled down some workouts from the Tone It Up girls.  One of the cardio workouts was to sprint (at about an 8 on a scale of 1-10) for 90 seconds, then jog (at level 4) for 3 minutes, then repeat this sequence five more times (for a total of six), which would be about 27 minutes.  This afternoon seemed like the perfect opportunity to try this interval workout since I had enough time between work and teaching Zumba and Daniel said he would be working a little bit late.

Next, I donned my new Fila running capris.  I found them on super sale at Kohl’s.

(In case you were wondering what that is attached to my jacket, it’s my gymboss interval timer – I don’t know how I lived so long without it!)

Finally, I headed out the door for my run!  Our driveway is about a quarter of a mile, so I used that as my warm up.  I felt nice and warm, so I geared up and hit the start button on my interval timer.  I began my 90 second sprint and was feeling great.  I had that “good run” feeling.  I was sprinting toward the park down the street from our house, and a familiar truck was heading in the opposite direction.  It was Daniel, so I obviously wanted to stop and say hey.  I had been sprinting for 45 seconds (on the first round no less), but he opened the door, I hopped in, and we drove home.

Fastest. Run. Ever.  🙂

Aren’t you impressed?

It may seem silly, but Daniel has been working nights all week, and we literally have not seen each other (awake) for more than two hours since Sunday.  I knew that spending some quality time with him before Zumba would make me feel better than a thirty minute cardio workout.

I figured that I may have developed the hottest workout trend.  Short workouts are all over the place – bodyrock, HIIT training, etc – so why not take it down to a quick 45 second sprint and then a 30 second ride back home?

So tell me…

Do you do HIIT workouts?

What was your workout today?

 

9 Responses to “My fastest run ever!”


  1. 1 janae@hungryrunnergirl.com April 12, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    AHHH CONGRATS WOMAN!! You are incredible and you look absolutely adorable…love the capris. That ‘good run feeling’ is the best thing in the whole world. Enjoy those endorphins and have a great Friday the 13th.

  2. 3 ittybitsofbalance April 13, 2012 at 5:05 am

    HAHA AW! I love you for choosing to get spend time with Daniel instead of completing your workout. It’s important to remember what’s REALLY important 🙂

  3. 5 cluelessnutrition April 13, 2012 at 8:35 am

    This is something I would do. Spending time with your loved ones, especially when you haven’t had much time together, definitely beats out a good sweat. I bet it made him feel special 🙂

  4. 7 notsodomesticated April 13, 2012 at 9:16 am

    Obviously Miss Janae missed the part about you hopping in the truck haha! 😉 Too funny! Congrats on your “fast run!” 😉 That’s my kind of exercise hahaha!


  1. 1 The run that DID actually happen « southern fit foodie Trackback on April 16, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

