My on-the-go breakfast

Good evening loves!  I hope that you have enjoyed another wonderful day.  I don’t know about where you are, but the weather here is unbelievably gorgeous.  I could definitely get used to this. 🙂

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m doing phase one of the South Beach eating plan.  If you know of anyone who has done this plan, you probably have heard them go on and on about how sick they are of eggs for breakfast.  I enjoy eggs, but I like variety in my meals, and it can easily get boring eating the same thing to start each day.

To prevent breakfast boredom, I started thinking about all my breakfast recipes (I swear that I’ll one day have a recipe page) and which ones would be acceptable at this stage in my eating plan.  Immediately, my mini frittata cups came to mind!  I made a few changes based on the ingredients I already had on hand, and this recipe was the end result.

(this is actually my caramelized onion and spinach mini frittatas that I made another time, but you get the idea – the ones this time were much larger and fluffier)

On-the-Go Mini Frittatas (makes 12 mini frittatas)

5 whole eggs
1 cup liquid egg whites (you could use all egg beaters instead of using whole eggs as well)
chopped onion
chopped mushrooms
1/2 cup reduced fat shredded cheese
6 slices turkey bacon (or you could use turkey sausage)

*note – you could use any vegetable you like in this recipe*

Preheat oven to 350.
Spray muffin tin liberally with PAM.
Cook turkey bacon until “crisp” (as crisp as turkey bacon can get lol). Drain bacon on paper towels.
Cook chopped mushrooms and onions in pan with bacon drippings.
While cooking vegetables, whisk eggs and egg whites together in a separate bowl, season with salt and pepper.
Evenly distribute cooked vegetables into bottoms of muffin tin.
Chop or tear bacon on top of veggies (1/2 piece of bacon per cup).
Using 1/4 cup measuring cup, distribute egg mixture on top of veggies and bacon.
Top with shredded cheese.
Bake for about 20 minutes, or until egg is set.

Once these are cool, you can either package them and keep in the refrigerator, or you could saran wrap them in little two-packs and put in the freezer for later.  After making these on Sunday night, they went into the fridge because I knew I’d be going through the entire batch within the week.  In case you were wondering about the nutritional stats on these little guys, here you go.

1 mini frittata

Calories – 69

Fat – 4

Carbs – 1

Sugar – 0

Protein – 7

Sodium – 161

I usually heat 2 of these babies up, top with a little no sugar added jam, and head out the door to work.

So tell me…

What’s your favorite on-the-go breakfast???

 

 

5 Responses to “My on-the-go breakfast”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated March 28, 2012 at 6:24 am

    Those look great! I don’t really do ‘on the go’ breakfasts. I pretty much always have to sit down to eat. It’s part of my morning routine. 😉

  2. 3 Lift Eat Repeat March 30, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    That first diet sounds very similar to competition prep diet- which like you said, you’rs not doing! Just make sure that when you done with your “diet” that you don’t go back to the usual eats- it needs to be a lifestyle change, not a diet!!
    Those mini frittatas look great! I’ve made similar egg white ones like these- they are good for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

  3. 4 stayecosmart April 3, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    Oh this looks so delicious!!


  1. 1 Broccoli Cheese Mini Frittatas « southern fit foodie Trackback on April 8, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

