The (updated) Plan

So, last week, I talked about a new eating plan that I was trying out.  I didn’t want to go into any details until I had given it a little bit of time so that I could give a fair opinion.  Well, friends, I’m afraid I still can’t give a very fair opinion.

I changed the plan after the third day.  Basically, it was a plan designed for maximal fat loss (which is my goal), and the eating plan looked similar to this:

Egg whites, steamed broccoli, tuna, steamed broccoli, steamed chicken, steamed green beans, protein shake, chicken, lettuce, tomato, protein shake.

And that was it.  (I could sub other leafy greens for some of the vegetables, and I could sub white fish for the chicken.)

I don’t know about y’all, but I actually enjoy cooking and eating.  By the end of day one, I was dreading my meals.  By day three, the smell of broccoli was making me nauseous.  So, I had a heart to heart with myself (don’t judge).

I asked – what are my goals?  Do I want to sacrifice all pleasures of eating and cooking just so I can be a little slimmer?  Do I see myself entering a figure competition?  Do I want to be miserable for the next eight weeks?

No, no, and no.

I am all for sacrificing some of my treats (that had becoming way too common) so that I can see results, but I don’t want to be one of those girls that can’t be around others because of the terribly crabby mood that hunger brings on.  It was quite serious – I couldn’t even read all my favorite food blogs!  Tragic.

Even though I knew this plan wasn’t the best fit for me, I knew that I couldn’t just give up and go back to eating whatever I wanted.  So, I chose a new plan!

It has similar principles to the strict plan I attempted – very low carbs, no added sugars or fruits (for now), and high protein.  It’s a plan you may have heard of before…

(source)

It’s hard for me to join in a “fad” diet, but I like fact that this plan is designed by a cardiologist and it builds into a eating plan that you can literally follow forever.  I switched to SB Phase 1 (the no fruit, no starches phase – like a detox) on Thursday, and I’ll continue it this week and the next.  Phase 2 allows some healthy carbs, such as sweet potatoes and fruit (!!!) to gradually be added back in.  I’m trying to do a whole foods approach to this plan, and I’m not allowing myself to buy any of their packaged foods.

I’m just thankful I can have some more variety in my foods!  I’ll be posting some SB recipes throughout the next several weeks, and if you have any ideas, please feel free to leave them in the comments!

*In case you were wondering how I did on the first week – I lost a few pounds.  However, I’m trying to go more by my body fat percentage and how my clothes fit.  I will say that today I felt a LOT more comfortable in one pair of pants than I did two weeks ago.*

I’m heading to bed – all that sleeping in last week made getting up and working all day today extra hard!

So tell me…

Did you ever do one of the fad diets?

What are your thoughts on South Beach Diet?

11 Responses to “The (updated) Plan”


  1. 1 L @ Trying Not to be Fat March 26, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    I’ve heard good things about south beach, one of my girlfriend’s dr actually reccomends it. If it works for you, then do it!

  2. 3 ittybitsofbalance March 27, 2012 at 5:00 am

    I’ve done more fad diets than I can count, and didn’t end up actually sticking to ANY of them. The thing I found to work for me was to have no rules at all– just “eat healthy”. I tend to keep things in moderation this way, and never end up binging in desperate need for treats.

    But everyone is different! Best of luck with the SB plan!

  3. 5 notsodomesticated March 27, 2012 at 6:29 am

    I’m similar to Brittany. But I’m glad that you allowed yourself to get off of that plan that was super restrictive. I just don’t think that’s any way to live. 😦 But yay for feeling better in those pants!!

    Sending hugs your way!! 🙂

  4. 7 Nicole March 27, 2012 at 10:07 am

    I have been on so many diets, (too many to count) and you know what, life is too short especially if you enjoy cooking and eating (the way I do). I just try to eat healthy and NO pre-packed junk. As you know my husband is an avid hunter, fisherman, he abalone dives so everything we eat is pretty healthy. You are beautiful the way you are, just eat healthy, and as much as you work out it its ok to have a treat!! 🙂 I think SB is the best way too go out of all the diets, yuk I hate that word. Be Healthy 🙂

  5. 9 Brittney March 27, 2012 at 11:25 am

    I love reading your blog. Before you said you’d started the south beach diet, I was going to suggest that you start the paleo diet. Brett and I have each significantly decreased or body fat percentages….you know we weren’t webern big people to start with. Another friend who started out bigger lost 10% in just sixty days. If you find that south beach doesn’t work for you, us love to see you do paleo! It isn’t a diet anymore for us….we’ll never go back! …and I’ve never enjoyed cooking, but I look forward to it everyday now!


  1. 1 My on-the-go breakfast « southern fit foodie Trackback on March 27, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Leave a Reply

