Spring Garden & Spaghetti Squash

Hello loves!  I hope that you have had a wonderful Wednesday!

It has been incredibly gorgeous here all week, and I am absolutely loving it.  I love being able to wear all my wedge sandals again!  I hope that you have been having some warm sunny weather wherever you are. 🙂

I have news…. exciting news!

Do you know what that is?!?!?!  It’s part of our spring garden!!! (Can you tell I’m excited?!)  This one little cutie is one of my favorite vegetables – Brussels sprouts!  Daniel has also planted onions, corn, and purple hull peas.  We will end up planting broccoli, squash, zucchini, tomatoes, peppers, and possibly eggplant.  I cannot wait until I can walk outside and pick all the veggies I need instead of buying them.

Oh, and I’m sure I will also plant some herbs, but I’ll more than likely kill them after about 5 weeks.  That seems to be the trend. 🙂

I have to share my dinner from tonight with you – it was so easy and delicious.  I knew I wanted to use up my spaghetti squash tonight, but it turned into something much more than I was expecting.

  • One spaghetti squash, halved and scooped out, roasted at 350 for about 30-40 minutes

  • 3 (I think) wedges light swiss Laughing Cow cheese

  • 1 tbsp goat cheese

  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast

  • sauteed mushrooms

  • 2 Trader Joe’s jalapeno chicken sausages, heated in a skillet and then sliced

  • garlic powder

  • sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

It was scrumptious and extremely filling.  Best part – leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

So tell me…

Do you have a vegetable garden?  If you do (or if you wish you did), what would you plant?

Have you ever cooked with spaghetti squash?

8 Responses to “Spring Garden & Spaghetti Squash”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated March 15, 2012 at 5:55 am

    For some reason, making spaghetti squash makes me nervous! I’ve never tried it because I’m afraid I’m going to mess it up. I really need to branch out, don’t I??

  2. 3 Nicole March 15, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    We will be planting our garden on or around the month of May. We plant tomatoes, little ones and big, squash, zucchini, onions, pumpkins and I have basil. Can’t wait. I LOVE the little tomatoes in my salad and the big ones for sauce and tomato sandwiches!! As for spaghetti squash, I am Italian so I only like the real stuff, lol….but if someone made it for me I would definitely try it. I will try anything. Have a great day! 🙂

  3. 5 Andrea @ Andrea out loud! March 15, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    I loooooove spaghetti squash! that sounds delish!
    I wish i had a garden, though i have no green thumb at all id love to have fresh veggies or herbs. I am considering getting an aero garden (since we are apartment livin’ for now!)
    i think itd be fun to do and delish of course! 🙂


  1. 1 Page not found « southern fit foodie Trackback on March 15, 2012 at 8:46 pm
  2. 2 ABC easy as 123 « southern fit foodie Trackback on March 15, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

