Raspberry Vanilla Oatmeal

One of my favorite things about Saturdays is the fact that I can take my sweet time to make a delicious breakfast that satisfies whatever it is that I’m craving.  I usually try to sleep in until at least 7:30 or 8 on Saturdays, but today I got up around 6:45.  Daniel had to take a HAZMAT exam for the fire department this morning, so I wanted to get up early enough to cook him a filling breakfast.  If you miss even one question or step on this exam, you fail, so I knew he was probably a little stressed.  Figuring that serving him breakfast would be a little act of encouragement, I whipped up two scrambled eggs with laughing cow cheese and a biscuit with homemade strawberry jam.  As the eggs were cooking, I finished off the crumbs from my bag of Love Grown raisin almond crunch granola.

*As I was typing that, Daniel called and said he passed!!!  YAY!!!!

After he left for the test, I popped a cinnamon roll coffee k-cup into the Keurig and mixed it with a little Truvia and almond coconut milk.  That was enjoyed while catching up on blog reading and emails, but my stomach soon started to let me know it was used to a filling breakfast, and that the coffee and granola crumbs were NOT cutting it.

I walked into the pantry and stared, and stared, and stared.  Nothing was jumping out at me, so I grabbed the one item that never fails to satisfy me – OATS, of course!  Today seemed like a good day to add cinnamon raisin peanut butter and some banana, but then once I had the oats cooking up in unsweetened vanilla almond milk, I decided that I was in the mood for something with lighter flavors.  The pb and banana were put away, and the vanilla Sun Warrior protein powder and fresh raspberries were invited to join the oatmeal party. Best. Decision. Ever.

Into the mason jar mix went:

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/2 cup water

1/2 scoop vanilla Sun Warrior

1/2 tsp Mexican vanilla

pinch of salt

dash of cinnamon

1 tbsp chia seeds (mixed with 3 tbsp water, stirred frequently until gel forms) – added about 5 minutes before oats finished completely

1/4 cup (I think) fresh raspberries – mashed with a fork with a tiny amount of maple syrup – mixed in after cooking

 

You better believe I ate every single bite!

See – I told you. Every single bite!

I’m finally going to get ready and enjoy the rest of the day!  The new gym where I’m teaching is having the grand opening this afternoon, but other than that, it’s just me, Daniel, and abundant sunshine! 🙂

What’s your favorite Saturday breakfast?

 

8 Responses to “Raspberry Vanilla Oatmeal”


  1. 1 The Dieting Gal March 10, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    I will definitely give this one a go! Is it high in calories? After all, I am a dieting gal 😉

  2. 3 Kristen @ notsodomesticated March 10, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Yum, that’s a pretty awesome looking breakfast!!

    My normal favorite breakfast is (as you know) peanut butter and banana on whole-wheat toast. But for a treat, I love pancakes and Belgian waffles. 😉

  3. 5 Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance March 10, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    This might be a ridiculous question, but is Mexican vanilla any different than regular vanilla?

    Hmm that’s a toughie! I’d have to say my favorite breakfast in general would have to be oats in a jar. No greater feeling than scraping leftover almond butter bites with my morning oats 😉

    • 6 natalie @ southern fit foodie March 10, 2012 at 6:08 pm

      I totally agree about OAIJ – love it! I will be having it sometime soon with my waning sunbutter jar. I bought this vanilla in Mexico over Christmas, and supposedly Mexican vanilla beans have a smoother, stronger flavor. To be honest, I can’t tell that big of a difference! 🙂

  4. 7 steph March 10, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    Breakfast is my favorite meal, and we have breakfast for dinner at least once a week. I love eggs, oats, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast and english muffins, but my favorite breakfast is a whole red or pink grapefruit with a glass of milk. I know it sounds weird, but it’s been my favorite breakfast for as long as I can remember!

    This oatmeal looks great, and I know my little girl would gobble it up 😉

    • 8 natalie @ southern fit foodie March 11, 2012 at 4:41 pm

      I love having breakfast for dinner! On Friday night, Daniel and I couldn’t decide what to cook because neither of us was truly all that hungry. I decided at about 8:45 to make baked oatmeal (with chocolate chips!) – it was the perfect dinner!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

