Simple Dinner & Keeping Promises

Random title, I know.  I promise they somehow relate to each other (at least in my mind).

First things first, the Chobani giveaway ends tonight (Thursday night)t, so make sure you entered!

Today was one of those days where I kept saying over and over, “it’s okay – tomorrow is Friday – hang in there – it’s almost the weekend – then Spring Break is right around the corner.”  It wasn’t a bad day by any means (I mean, how could you possibly have a bad day when you get to teach 13 year old hormonal angelic students all about the difference in who and whom ;)), but it was just a crazy day because of our shortened class schedules, MOUNDS of paperwork, and the fact that the end of the quarter is tomorrow.

Side note:  The reason we had shortened classes this week is because we have had guest speakers all week at school.  The woman that shared her story today completely blew me away (along with everyone else).  Her name is Kristen Anderson, and she reaffirmed that it’s truly amazing what God can do through our lives, even when we try to mess them up by doing our own thing.  If you want to check out her website you can go here, and if you want to see a brief clip of her story, you can watch that here.

Back to the title of this post – the simple dinner.  I thought for a while before Zumba about what to cook tonight, but when I was driving home in the pouring rain, I still had no idea what to make.  I opted to pound out some boneless skinless chicken breasts and cook them in my Le Creuset French oven with a little olive oil, seasoned salt, and freshly ground black pepper.  While they chicken was cooking away, a cut up some zucchini spears and roasted them in the oven.  I told you it was a simple dinner. 🙂

If you didn’t realize, I’m keeping my promise that I made last night of posting current pictures.

After dinner, that sweet tooth kicked in again, and I finally succumbed to the chocolate cravings.  I indulged in a diet hot chocolate mix made with unsweetened almond coconut milk.  It was completely delicious and totally satisfied the monster chocolate craving I had.

Definitely a good way to end the day!

I hope you all have a FABULOUS Friday!  I’ll post the Chobani giveaway winner tomorrow!

What’s your favorite simple dinner?

6 Responses to “Simple Dinner & Keeping Promises”


  1. 1 Kristen @ notsodomesticated March 9, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Yum, your dinner looks great!! When I want a quick and easy dinner, I do something fairly similar. I put my chicken breasts or tenders into some Italian breadcrumbs, then cook them in a skillet with a little olive oil over medium-high heat. After just a couple minutes on each side to brown, I pop them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes to finish cooking. I use that chicken in lots of ways … with spaghetti and tomato sauce, with rice, on top of a big salad, etc!

  2. 3 Michelle March 9, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Yay for Friday! Sounds like you need a nice long weekend of some R&R 🙂

    My favorite simple dinner is taco salad; just brown some ground turkey, season, and through with all the salad fixins’. The best part is that the leftovers are delicious too.

  3. 5 cyndiloohoo March 9, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    simple is not even cooking ur own chicken but using a rotisserie chicken from ur fav grocery store! on weeks when i know i will be cooking only for myself and not getting home til late (due to ur amazing zumba & shred classes!), i pick one up and make everything from simple stirfry with veggies i have on hand to quesadillas or pizza. YUM!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

