Fish taco night and my new favorite dessert!

Thank you for the well wishes – Daniel convinced me I should actually take some medicine today, and what do you know, it really did help.  I’m feeling much more like myself today, and hopefully tomorrow will be even better.

But back to the important things – tonight was fish taco night!  Much better than random egg combination night and sauteed veggies and garlic bread night. 🙂

Tonight’s dinner was absolutely perfect.  I don’t know if I was just incredibly hungry or if Daniel and I really do concoct the best fish tacos ever.

Daniel was cooking the fish while I was on my way home from Zumba (wish was amazingly sweaty and fun tonight!), and we ate about five minutes after I walked in the door.  I had to make a pit stop on the way home to buy a fresh avocado, and I’m so glad I did.  I may or may not have eaten HALF the avocado as part of my dinner.

Since we ate so quickly after I got home, I didn’t really think about grabbing my camera (maybe one day I’ll start to get better at this whole blogging thing).  We briefly toasted up some small corn tortillas on the stove, and I topped mine with the following:

  • Fage 0% plain Greek yogurt (in place of sour cream)

  • Pinch of shredded cheese

  • Salsa

  • Homemade pickled onions (SO GOOD!)

  • Tilapia (that Daniel cooked on the stone in the oven with some seasoning blend he made – it rocks)

  • AVOCADO!!!

It was so delicious – I kept “mmmmm”ing with each bite (think What About Bob style).  It was THAT good.  For my second, I skipped the tortilla and just mixed the other ingredients together.

After dinner, my natural sweet tooth teeth kicked in.  I was very tempted to go for the chocolate or peanut butter (or both), but reminded myself of my clean eating goal.  I decided to enjoy some fresh fruit instead.  I think I found my new favorite dessert!  I peeled and chopped one Cara Cara orange, a champagne mango, and a kiwi.  I topped the mix with some coconut butter shavings and dug in.  SO SO SO good.

Between the avocado and coconut butter, I think I definitely got in my day’s (or week’s) worth of healthy fats. 🙂

I do apologize for the lack of pictures…does this make up for it???

My babies!  This was the first weekend we had little Clyde.  Harley couldn’t leave him alone!

I promise tomorrow that I will post a picture that isn’t several years old and that is actually relevant to my post.

Tomorrow is Friday Eve!  I hope you are as excited as I am!

10 Responses to “Fish taco night and my new favorite dessert!”


  1. 1 Nicole March 7, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    I love fish tacos!! I am also eating clean and was hungry around 7:00 p.m. which is when I like to have a piece of chocolate but instead I had a hard boiled egg! 🙂 Oh my gosh Clyde and Harley are adorable. I LOVE animals. We have 2 dogs, 3 cats (outside) we raise chickens (fresh eggs), pigs, etc. I hope your feeling much better!

  2. 3 Michelle March 7, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    I give you major props for working out when you are sick; I just couldn’t fathom going to the gym tonight with my disgusting self! Instead I did what any sane girl would do and went to Trader Joe’s to stock up on wine 🙂

    I love your puppies; I’m totally jealous you have two little fur balls to cuddle with!

  3. 5 Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance March 8, 2012 at 5:46 am

    Yummy yummy! Will and I made tilapia fish taco bowls once, and they were SO delicious! I think we paired ’em with a mango salsa too, so I feel you on the fish taco lovin’ 😉

  4. 7 Kristen @ notsodomesticated March 8, 2012 at 6:38 am

    I have been looking for a good (but not too difficult) fish taco recipe for ages! I tried making one recipe about a year ago, and it was a disaster haha! But I always LOVE getting them at restaurants!

  5. 9 Jason March 8, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Love reading your blogs, miss you guys! It was great seeing you both at Journey, maybe we can get everyone together soon for some fellowship.


Leave a Reply

