Prescription Exercise

Thank you so much to all of you who entered the Chobani giveaway!  It doesn’t close until Thursday night, so if you haven’t entered yet, you still have time!

It’s Tuesday night at 9:15, and I’m just now getting home and starting dinner.  It’s one of those crazy weeks.  My regular schedule, but then Daniel has a FD class four nights this week until 9 or 10, so it’s making for some late dinners.  Luckily, tomorrow night is his night off from the class, and I get home before 7 on Wednesdays, so we can actually eat before midnight AND spend some time together!  Since we’ve been eating so late (which is really not that much later than usual – maybe 20 minutes? It seems much later…), our meals have been even more unusual than they usually are.  Last night, Daniel reheated leftovers while I made two eggs and topped them with goat’s milk cream cheese and fig butter.  Don’t knock it til you try it!  Tonight, I decided to toast up some ciabatta bread that needed to be used with some Brummel & Brown yogurt spread and garlic.  We are sauteing some squash and zucchini to go along with it, and we have some smoked chicken in the fridge (Daniel smoked a big batch of chicken breasts for me on Sunday for my lunches this week).  Whatever works!

Tomorrow night will be much better – it’s fish taco night!  Get excited!

On a totally different note, I have had the worst cold this week!  I rarely get sick (maybe a stomach bug or the sniffles once a year), but for some reason this year I have had this persistent cold that I cannot get rid of.  It’s highly annoying.  Instead of going to a real doctor, I decided to prescribe myself lots of fresh fruits and veggies, sleep (which I haven’t gotten), and EXERCISE!  Before teaching my first class tonight, I had this pounding sinus headache, I couldn’t breathe through my nose at all, and I basically want to curl up in a ball instead of shaking my booty to hip hop music (this is the sign that something is wrong).  My sweet friends that take my class were asking if I should teach or if I needed to go home and rest, but I assured them that once I got a little sweat goin’ that everything would be fine.  Within the first three songs I felt like a new person!  I don’t know what it is about exercise, but it always makes me feel better!  Obviously, if you have more severe symptoms than just a little cold (for me anything shoulders and below or a fever), then you should see a real doctor. 🙂

And because this post is pictureless…how about I introduce you to M-Swag?!?!?!

Isn’t it so little and cute?!

So tell me…

Does exercise make you feel better?

Anyone have a unique home remedy that would cure this lingering cold???

Have a fabulous night!

 

10 Responses to “Prescription Exercise”


  1. 1 steph March 6, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Try some occillicoccinim. Long name, but it’s an over-the-counter homeopathic medicine. I take it when I feel run down or cruddy, and it’s amazing and keeps me going. I keep a box in the cabinet just in case. Hope you feel better! As for working out when I’m sick… well… I’m more a blanket and pajamas kind of girl 😉

    • 2 natalie @ southern fit foodie March 6, 2012 at 11:42 pm

      Sometimes the blanket and pajamas definitely win with me too! 🙂 I’ll definitely check out that medicine – thank you for recommending it. At this point I’m about to go see a *real* doctor (which I haven’t done in about three years?!).

  2. 3 Kristen @ notsodomesticated March 7, 2012 at 6:22 am

    My sister-in-law swears by olive leaf pills. They’re just a natural supplement you can get at any store with vitamins. She says to take several a day. I don’t know … just an idea! 😉 Hope you feel better soon!

  3. 5 cyndiloohoo March 7, 2012 at 10:02 am

    mama says take a day off (from everything!) and sleep! oj & tylenol, steamy shower, & snuggle up with ur puppies & rest! love u (even tho i know u won’t listen 2 me)

  4. 7 Michelle March 7, 2012 at 10:48 am

    I just woke up this morning with a cold! I was going to go to the gym to workout but honestly I’m more afraid of making other people sick next to me than worrying about whether it will feel good or not. I think all of my time working in hospice has got me all paranoid…

    Love M-Swag 🙂

  5. 9 Nicole March 7, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Oh Natalie I hope your feeling better. Love your new computer!


  1. 1 Fish taco night and my new favorite dessert! « southern fit foodie Trackback on March 7, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

