Something’s wrong with my scale…and my mirror

And my clothes…

Or is something wrong with me???

scale

(source)

I’m going to put this out there – I thought about weighing myself today (which I haven’t done yet this year), and I couldn’t do it.  I knew the scale would show me some horrific number and I would kick it and mumble ugly words as I walked sadly away.  I know that in the past year (maybe since like April or May?  I’m not sure), I have put on about 5-10 pounds.  Sure, some of it may be muscle, but I know all of it isn’t.  My midsection has gotten…fluffier.  I’m not nearly as toned as I have been, but I’m working out way more than I ever have. 

I have a degree in sports medicine and exercise science, and during my time in that field, I learned all about the human body and how it works.  I learned that rest is incredibly important.  Not only is rest in the form of sleep important, but rest in the form of taking time to let your body recover from each workout is also just as important.  See my problem???

I am overworking my body, and I am not letting it recover at all.  I think I may actually be harming my body by the amount of stress I’m putting it through.  Since I decided to cut back on my Zumba classes and forego the bodyrock challenge for now (I did it for 2.5 weeks and had to stop because I couldn’t give it my best and also give my best to my other workouts to which I’m committed), I have started to feel better. 

Lately, I have also been feeling extremely convicted about the time I spend working out, teaching classes, and training as opposed to spending time developing and fueling relationships. I’ve also been struggling with my body image. I know where my worth is – it is in Christ – it is NOT in the image I see in the mirror. However, I think every woman struggles with body image. When I look in the mirror, all I see are my problem areas, and I feel that my weight gain is SO obvious.  Being the size of a twelve year old, it’s hard for me to open up about this to anyone because they always have the same response: “Oh PLEASE!  You’re crazy!” etc etc etc.  I know they mean well and they are trying to be sweet.  I just want to say that whether you are a size 00 or 24, you can look in the mirror and see something totally different.

sharma-obesity-distored-body-image1

(source)

My new goal is to give my body time to recover from each workout (especially when lifting or pushing extremely hard).  That pesky number on the scale may move, or it may not.  We shall see.  My other goal is to eat a lot cleaner (this one is an ongoing goal for me) so that I can truly see the results of my efforts.  Finally, my main goal is to truly focus on my relationships with OTHERS (GOD, Daniel, family, friends, coworkers, etc), not my relationship with my weights or my zumba gear. 

Enough words…I just wanted to put all that out there and let you know how I’m feeling. 

Do you struggle with these same issues?  How do you combat them in your life? 

Do you think women are ever satisfied with their physical appearance???

15 Responses to “Something’s wrong with my scale…and my mirror”


  1. 1 Jennifer February 2, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    I totally know what your talking about. One it is so easy to want to squeeze in one more Zumba class but I refuse so I can let my body rest. Second I understand the body image thing. I’m getting so tired of people telling me that I’m getting so skinny and soon they wont be able to see me standing sideways. I know they are trying to complement me but, I rather they just say girl your looking so good or cute or healthy. Oh and my scale needs a new battery so I’ve not been able to weight myself. Oh and I’m so glad you are taking time to let your body rest!

  2. 2 natalie @ southern fit foodie February 2, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    Don’t replace the battery! Let’s see, for the price you would pay for buying batteries…we could go to Sweet CeCe’s! 🙂

  3. 3 Andrea @ Andrea out loud! February 3, 2012 at 10:57 am

    I definitely think it is possible to be satisfied with your appearance.
    the scale has always lied to me, even my trainer agrees, I look slimmer (according to multiple people) and have lost inches when measuring (and a pants size! woo hoo!) but the scale has budged a lovely 3 lbs tahts it.

  4. 5 Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance February 3, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    Man oh man, you just totally related back to my life when I initially began working out. At the start of my weight loss journey I lose a good amount initially, but then became obsessed with over-exercising that my body started to hold onto weight. As soon as I started to incorporate more rest, the pounds began to shed off. It’s really crazy how the whole thing works!

    Good luck 🙂

  5. 7 Kristen @ notsodomesticated February 3, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    I love your honesty, Natalie. And I agree that it doesn’t matter what size you are … you can still have body/food/self-esteem/etc issues. But you are absolutely right that your worth is in Him, and He sees you as perfect and beautiful. So just try to take care of yourself … however that looks for you. Love ya!! 🙂

  6. 9 Lindsey February 3, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    Hey Natalie!

    I identify with this SO SO much! So glad that you’re brave enough to say it! 🙂 After losing 75ish pounds and knowing in my head that I’m no longer that “fat girl”, I still cringe every time I think about the scale! I finally weighed today since before Christmas – wasn’t bad at all but oh so scary. Why??! Oh and this year I’m also scheduling REST time! So important for my body – not to mention those junk food cravings and mental health too.
    You look great and HEALTHY – remember that!!

  7. 11 Mallory @ Have Your Cake and Eat It February 5, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    i find that i am happiest when i dont weigh myself. of course, i still eat healthy and exercise but why let an inanimate electronic object control how you feel? not worth it to me. i spent way too many days being miserable all bc of a stupid number. do i weigh more now? prolly 5 pounds more.am i happier? YES!!!!

  8. 13 Jodi @ Southern Flavored Life February 7, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    Love this post! I have been doing the opposite of you, which is letting my workouts slide way too often.

    And no matter what your size/body type, you know what’s comfortable to you.


  1. 1 The Plan « southern fit foodie Trackback on March 19, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

