Soup Suicide

Tonight’s dinner was about as easy as it gets.

I knew I needed to use the boneless skinless chicken breasts I had, but I wasn’t exactly sure what I was in the mood to eat.  To be quite honest, I wanted cookie dough and brownie batter for dinner, but something inside my head said that wouldn’t be the best idea…

I cooked up the chicken breasts with some garlic, salt, and pepper in a skillet over medium high heat until they were just cooked through and the juices were clear.  I pulled it off the heat and allowed it to REST (super important – let the juices redistribute so you don’t end up with dry chicken!) before chopping it up.

While the chicken was resting, I heated one of my favorite soups on the stove.

soup

(source)

I absolutely love Amy’s organic soups!!!  I also love that my Kroger finally started carrying the light in sodium variety of my favorite – chunky tomato bisque. 

*Side note – Doesn’t this soup make you want to sing that song from Madagascar 2???  I like ‘em big… I like ‘em chunky!*

Back to the easy dinner…

What’s better than one awesome soup?  Making a soup suicide, of course!

I mixed it with another favorite soup from Amy’s.

lentil soup

(source)

I added in some seasoned diced tomatoes, garlic powder, black pepper, sea salt, and chili powder.  After it was heated through, I stirred in my chopped chicken and a little mozzarella cheese.  Daniel and I both greatly enjoyed this super easy meal.  I ate some low fat cottage cheese with mine, so between the soups, chicken, and cottage cheese I got in a good bit of protein.

Bonus – we had enough leftover for us both to have lunch for tomorrow!!!

What are some of your easy go-to weeknight dinners?

Have you ever made a soup suicide?

2 Responses to “Soup Suicide”


  1. 1 Andrea @ Andrea out loud! February 2, 2012 at 10:52 am

    the Amy’s soups are so good, I recently just tried them finally!
    And I am always a fan of Madagascar songs – my most favorite workout song ever is “I like to move it” from the first movie haha.
    My easy go to weeknight dinner is tacos! Love them and usually as quick as just cooking up some chicken or shrimp and cutting up some veggies!

  2. 2 natalie @ southern fit foodie February 2, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Girl – I love some tacos! We eat some form of tacos at least one night a week, if not twice. Chicken, shrimp, fish, beef, whatever. 🙂

    Madagascar (the first one) is one of my favorite movies!!! I can pretty much quote the whole thing. Let’s have a Madagascar and taco night!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

