If I quit dancing, I’ll fall asleep

Goodness gracious, what a week this has been! 

Homecoming week at school = one of the busiest weeks of my entire year.  It involves decorating, two-a-day practices, along with keeping up with my regular schedule.  Don’t get me wrong, I love homecoming week, it just wears me out.

One of my favorite parts of this week is getting to dress up each day. 

homecoming

(eighties day a few years ago – rockin’ the side ponytail)

Today we (a group of middle school teachers) went as Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.  I was chosen to be Dopey – not sure what this says about me ha.  It was a really fun day!  Tomorrow is book character day, and I have no idea what I’m wearing.  I was thinking about going as Rue or Katniss from The Hunger Games, but I don’t know that I can pull off either one.  My other ideas are anyone from The Babysitters Club (I loved those growing up!), Little Critter, Jillian Michaels, Huck Finn, or a chef from one of my favorite cookbooks.  Suggestions???

little critter

My favorite Little Critter book!

(source)

The downside to homecoming week is the severe lack of sleep.  In order for our routine to be as close to perfection as possible, we practice at 6:30 a.m. and after school.  (Side note – all of my high school cheerleaders have had the best attitudes towards these early practices!  I’m so proud!)  Leaving school and going to Zumba I always feel so sleepy, but once I start dancing it wakes me up!  By the end of the class, I think to myself if I stop dancing, I’m going to fall sound asleep.  So I just keep dancing – in my car, in the kitchen, as I write this blog…

Only two more days!  If I can figure out what to wear in the next few minutes, I plan on going to bed by 9:30 (as I write this I’m saying “yeah, THAT will never happen”).

Are you having a good week?  Long, busy, tiring, productive, fun, lazy, etc???

Did you have homecoming dress up days when you were in high school?  What was your favorite day to dress up? 

8 Responses to “If I quit dancing, I’ll fall asleep”


  1. 1 Michelle January 25, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    OMG I was obsessed with The Babysitters Club! I read all the books, saw the movie, and watched the horribly cheesy Disney series. I think we may have been separated at birth 🙂

    Have fun with the rest of the Homecoming festivities!

  2. 2 natalie @ southern fit foodie January 25, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    Sounds like we need to have a meetup and watch BSC together! 🙂

  3. 3 Jennifer January 25, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    so your dedication to posting everyday has me trying to do the same. so i just posted about my bust week and then came here to read yours. cracked me up that you had also talked about being busy 🙂 by the way I loved the little Critter books growing up i think i owned all of them, and now i’m introducing them to the boys i watch.

  4. 5 Jodi @ Southern Flavored Life January 26, 2012 at 9:53 am

    Must, must, must try Zumba! I’ve heard so many people talking about it lately.

    I have been going to bed alot earlier than usual, hoping it would make me wake up earlier/on-time. Nope. Tomorrow’s Friday! (in case you didn’t know) 🙂

  5. 7 Kristen @ notsodomesticated January 26, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    How fun!! 🙂 I think you should dress up like Stacey or Claudia from the BSC … they were my favorite! 😉 I dressed up like Stacey in 5th grade. My friends dressed up like the other characters, and we had the theme song from the movie playing through a boombox while we went trick or treating! We were sooo cool!


Leave a Reply

