One week down…

Well, I did it!  Last weekend I posted that I wanted to blog every single day, no matter what my work and practice schedule looked like.  I officially met my goal, and I plan on continuing to blog daily.

Daniel and I have been going to a new church for the past four or five months (I guess it’s technically not new anymore), and we signed up to join a small group at the first of the year.  We met with our group for the first time today, and it was amazing. 

You know how sometimes several people will be placed in a group for some activity or what not, and it seems incredibly awkward???  Well, this was the exact opposite of that.  Everyone started talking immediately (okay, I may have been the first one…) and it was like we had known each other for years.

We got to know each other a bit and then talked about what we wanted out of small group and what we wanted to put in.  I could not be more excited about the plans God has for us and for these new friendships that are already starting to develop.  My heart is filled with so much joy!

 

Unfortunately, we are expecting severe weather tonight.  Sixty-five degree weather in January in West Tennessee typically does not end well for us.  We have experienced our fair share of damaging tornadoes.  Check this out:

weather

(source)

radar

(source)

Yeah, that dark red part is right where we live.  I’m not one to be scared of weather since there’s really nothing I can do to change it, but when it gets like this I like to refresh my mind with one of my favorite scriptures.

Philippians 4:6

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.

If you are in the area, please remember to have your weather alert radio on and know your emergency plan.  If we hear the siren, we’ll be grabbing our animals and setting up camp in our interior hallway.  Don’t worry, I’ve already got my “tornado snack” ready too. 

Instead of thinking about possible tornadoes, I’m choosing to close my eyes and pretend I’m back in Cancun.

307

(ignore the photo bomb in the background)

Do you have tornadoes or other severe weather where you live?

9 Responses to “One week down…”


  1. 1 Michelle January 22, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    How scary! Stay safe. I’ve never experienced a tornado before but I’m sure it is pretty intense.

    The only severe weather we have here is temps in the 100s and dust storms. Not much to complain about here…

    • 2 natalie @ southern fit foodie January 22, 2012 at 11:18 pm

      Dust storms…now that’s something we don’t have! We have had so many severe tornadoes here it’s crazy. In 2008 one of the local colleges (the one where I got my undergrad and grad) was hit really badly. Almost all the dorms were completely destroyed (with the students in them), but with God’s protection no one was killed. I’m hoping that it all blows over tonight!

  2. 3 Kristen @ notsodomesticated January 23, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing that verse, Natalie. That’s a different version of the verse than I’m used to, and I really like it. I need to be reminding myself of that, because it’s so easy for me to start stressing about getting this house sold!

    Have a good night, and be safe!!

    • 4 natalie @ southern fit foodie January 24, 2012 at 12:08 am

      Luckily the storms weren’t nearly as bad as they thought they were going to be. Our mailbox did get blown a good twenty feet, but thankfully it didn’t hit either of our vehicles!

      That verse always helps me remember that we shouldn’t worry – especially about those things where we have zero control! 🙂

  3. 5 runningismagical January 23, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    YAY! Getting back into a normal blogging schedule can be really tough! And with your schedule…I can’t even imagine. Stay safe! (and that photo bomb seriously had me cracking up alone at my desk just now)

  4. 7 Jodi @ Southern Flavored Life January 24, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Thank goodness the storms didn’t destroy anything here!

    You’re gorgeous; love your style!


  1. 1 Survey Says… « Our Dream, Made Out of Real Things Trackback on January 25, 2012 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

