Abs Workout

See…I didn’t break my pinky promise! 

At one of the gyms where I teach, I was asked to teach a 15 minute abs class before my Zumba class.  I LOVE teaching abs/core, so I quickly accepted.  I think having a strong core is crucial to your overall health, and, unfortunately, most people skimp on this portion of their workouts. 

Benefits of a strong core:

  • Decreased risk of injury
  • Increased balance
  • Ability to hold proper form not only in core exercises, but also when working other muscle groups
  • Takes pressure off lower back (especially for those who stand all day at work)
  • Better posture

This is one of the workouts I did in my new 15 minute abs class.  Try it out and let me know what you think!

2-3 sets alternating 15 each:

2-3 sets alternating 15 each:

  • side lunge with dumbbell reach overhead (from JM 6 week 6 pack)
  • seated oblique twist with weight

2-3 sets alternating 15 each:

  • plank (40-60 seconds) – on second and/or third set, add leg lift
  • double butterfly crunch

2-3 sets alternating 15 each:

  • spiderman abs (like slow mountain climbers, but bring knee out to the side towards shoulder)
  • side plank oblique pushups

We finished off with about 50 crunches of choice

What is your favorite ab/core move?  What about your least favorite?

1 Response to “Abs Workout”


  1. 1 runningismagical December 7, 2011 at 10:18 am

    I really like planks…mainly bc they kick my butt. And anything that makes me struggle or work extra hard is a winner in my book! Sounds like you left some people verrry sore!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

The Lean Green Bean

