DIET – the ultimate four letter word

Most people cringe when they hear the word “diet” because they think of eating small amounts of tasteless food, giving up all their favorite foods, and waking up in the middle of the night so hungry they start gnawing on the bedpost.

I think it is interesting that the word diet actually means “the kinds of food that a person, animal, or community habitually eats.”  The origin of the word diet comes from a Greek word meaning “a way of living.”  Looking at the word from this perspective puts a much more positive spin on it. 

Lately, I have noticed that I have allowed too many empty carbs (sweets) back into my regular eating habits.  Accordingly, I have noticed a few extra pounds creep on my waistline.  In order to get this extra weight off, I am not GOING on a diet, but I am going to ADJUST my diet  way of life.  This means less refined sugars (so long, mini kit-kats, it’s been real), more vegetables, and also a change in my workout routine. 

My body has gotten used to my routine, and now the hour long sweat session of Zumba that occurs 3-4 times a week is just “the norm.”  This week, I have added in two Piloxing classes (have y’all heard of this or taken the class?  It’s so much fun!), some Jillian Michaels (6 week 6 pack), new weight lifting combos, and HIIT (high-intensity interval training) workouts.  I bought the Women’s Health Big Book of 15 Minute Workouts and have been mixing those in with my other workouts.  Needless to say, I’ve been sore all week!  I know I’m not the only one who rejoices when I wake up and my muscles are stiff and sore from an effective workout! 🙂 

Even though I’m cutting back in some areas of my eating habits, I am DEFINITELY not eliminating things I love (chocolate, frozen yogurt, carbs, cheese).  I have recently fallen in love with three new (to me) forms of chocolate.

Silk Dark Chocolate Almond Milk

Zico Chocolate Coconut Water

Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Caramel Bar with Sea Salt (this one is still an indulgent and decadent treat, but it counts because it’s a new obsession – and dark chocolate has antioxidants).

I will keep you posted on my adjusted eating habits and way of life in general! 

Do y’all ever get “stuck” and have to jumpstart  your healthy lifestyle?  (I seriously hope it’s not just me!)

What’s your favorite treat that is somewhat healthy but doesn’t “taste healthy”?

Any words out there that you can’t stand or make you cringe?

5 Responses to “DIET – the ultimate four letter word”


  1. 1 runningismagical November 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    I get stuck and party too much on the weekends. Sometimes, I just need to detox and clean it up for a bit. I need to learn how to balance more!

  2. 2 Kristen @ notsodomesticated November 21, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Good for you for not going on a “diet” but just getting back to some healthier eating. I think life is all about moderation … you’re going to have those days (and even sometimes weeks) when you eat a little junkier than normal. But you just have to be careful not to let that become a lifestyle. Get back on the healthy eating track, and it’s all good! But traditional diets DON’T work! You just can’t sustain a “diet” for the rest of your life!

  3. 3 esmemerrie November 28, 2011 at 12:41 am

    I hate when I use the word diet in reference to the foods I’m eating and people assume I’m restricting to lost weight. Ugh lol.
    It’s amazing how our bodies adjust to exercise! I waitress and I certainly don’t have the ability to consume the number of calories that I “walk off.”
    Good luck girl!


  1. 1 The Plan « southern fit foodie Trackback on March 19, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

