Hard Work Pays

I love my job.  Let me rephrase that.  I love my jobs.  All four of them.  That being said, sometimes the combination of all four can take a toll on me!  This week has been homecoming week at our school.  For most teachers and students, that translates to fun dress up days, a powder puff football game, a big school wide pep rally, and lots of extra fun events throughout the week.  For the my cheerleaders and me, it means working over fall break to decorate the school, two-a-days all week, planning those fun extra events, and making sure everyone is full of school spirit and having a good time!  I love homecoming week – especially getting to wear my Zumba® clothes to school – but it leads to what I call “homecoming brain.”  Homecoming brain is when I do things like call a student by the name “Lane” when I don’t even have a student named Lane (or even know anyone named Lane come to think of it)…or telling one of my girls to put something somewhere and then five minutes later panicking because I don’t know what I’ve done with that item…or forget to make breakfast three days in a row…or have cake brought by a parent for breakfast…or take my keys inside and then go try to move my car because I thought it was still running.  I don’t think I need to continue. 

A week full of 6:30 a.m. practices, school, and afternoon practices left my high school cheerleaders exhausted, but, man, did their hard work pay off.  Today at the pep rally (which was amazing, if I do say so myself), their routine was impeccable.  I could not be more proud.

homecoming 2011

Hard work truly pays off.  My workout and eating has been kind of out of whack lately (especially this week), and I need to remember that hard work in those areas is what helps me see results.  This weekend, my goal is to plan out my workouts and all my food for the week (and also get in my regular weekend workouts plus some).  I always have to remind my cheerleaders, my clients, my students, and myself that successful people (athletes, performers, high achieving students, successful business men and women, etc) didn’t get where they are by being lazy and slacking off.  To get those results and to become better in that area, it’s going to take hard work, dedication, blood, sweat, and tears.  It’s time to refocus and get hard core about these workouts.  Anyone else want to commit?  I’m ready for results – are you?

What works for you?  Do you have to get your “game face” on and go all in?  Or do you easily see results (I’ll be jealous if you say yes, but I’ll get over it…eventually)?

0 Responses to “Hard Work Pays”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

