Basic Oatmeal Recipe

I eat oatmeal.

A lot.

Growing up, my mom would fix oatmeal and cheese toast, and I thought it was the most comforting breakfast.  In college, I kept a stash of instant oatmeal packages and ate them pretty much 4-5 times per week.  I still love my oats, but they have definitely grown up since my younger days. 

On weekends, I make my oats on the stovetop and cook them with extra liquid for double the time to make them extremely voluminous.  During the week, I usually make overnight oats to save time in the mornings.  However, there are some occasions where I’m not in the mood for oats at night, but when I wake up, that’s all I’m craving.  This is my method for a quick, filling, and delicious bowl of oats.

1/3 cup oats (NOT quick cooking)

1/4-1/3 cup canned pure pumpkin (Libby’s is my personal favorite)

1/3-1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Combine those ingredients with a pinch of salt and a liberal dash of cinnamon (or five generous dashes if you are a cinnamon addict like me) and stir well.  Pop into the microwave for 1.5-2 minutes, stir, then cook for about 30 more seconds. 

From here I add in my flavor combinations (in my opinion it needs flavor added unless you like the taste of plain unsweetened oats).  It’s a pretty blank canvas, so you can add in anything you like!  Sometimes I roll with almond butter and raisins, other times I go with dark chocolate chips and coconut flakes, or even diced apples, dried cherries and honey.  The options are seriously endless.  Right before digging in, I always add another splash of almond milk (to thin it out slightly and to cool it down).

If you are looking for an extremely fast and filling breakfast, give this a try.

Enjoy!!!

2 Responses to “Basic Oatmeal Recipe”


  1. 1 c October 6, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    yum yum! i love bob’s red mill steel cut oats the most—its all about the texture! since they take longer to cook, i have found that cooking them in a small crock pot works the best for me. a few hours on hi or overnite on lows does it with the groats and water. then i add whatever dried fruit and butter (mango, pumpkin) i am craving! can’t wait to try ur dark chocolate and coconut. MMMmmm!

  2. 2 Kristen @ notsodomesticated October 8, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Yum that sounds awesome!! I had another friend who recently posted about pumpkin oatmeal. I’m going to have to give this a try!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

