Bonding Time and a Good Upper Body Workout

If you are expecting these to be two separate topics, you are mistaken.

Until recently, I have worked every Wednesday night until around 8-8:30.  Now on Wednesdays I get home around 5:15, and it.is.amazing.  Daniel and I actually have some time to hang out, cook dinner together, and catch up on everything going on in our week.  The rest of the week is usually quite hectic, so it’s incredibly refreshing to have a relaxing night at home.

Sometimes we will take the dogs for a walk or go running together, but last night we chose a different type of bonding activity that doubled as a powerful upper body workout…

rebel 094

rebel 105

You are welcome to go ahead and laugh at my face – I know I did!  Apparently that’s my “intense” face hahaha. 

rebel 106

rebel 107

rebel 108

Clearly, we have a wood-burning fireplace, and we use it constantly during the winter.  Daniel started splitting firewood when he got home from work today, and I joined in as soon as I got home!  After I did about 3 or 4 logs, I said, “If you were in a fight, wouldn’t you want ME to be the person that had your back?!”  I’m sure all five feet of me would be pretty intimidating, right?  Ha. 

I have a feeling that my arms, shoulders, and back will be a little sore!  It really was a great workout! 

The one bad thing about our bonding time was that there were mosquitoes attacking us!!!  Seriously – Daniel has about 10 bites on his back, and I have about eight million (I counted) on each leg!

rebel 101

I even smacked one that bit me on my face!  It had apparently been feasting away on my blood, because this is what my hand looked like after killing it.  It was disgusting.

rebel 112

Hopefully with the cooler weather coming in, we will have many more nights to chill/work outside together without mosquitoes!

On the way inside to make dinner, I was blessed to take in a gorgeous site of the sun dipping below the trees.

rebel 111

I hope y’all had a wonderful night!  

What was your Wednesday workout? 

weight training yesterday morning, splitting firewood last night

Are there any workouts or jobs around the house that make you feel beastly?

obviously splitting firewood – and pull-ups

PS – I got my stuff from Trader Joe’s – it was everything I dreamed it would be!

3 Responses to “Bonding Time and a Good Upper Body Workout”


  1. 1 runningismagical September 23, 2011 at 12:49 am

    Haha I love those shots of you chopping wood. You’re so tiny- way to go! I had a rough run…I’m hoping to get over this funk this weekend!

  2. 3 Kristen @ notsodomesticated September 28, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Yuck … I had mosquitos!!! And you rock. I don’t think I would ever have the strength to chop wood like that!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

