My Favorite Holiday

When asked their favorite holiday, most people say Christmas, Thanksgiving, or 4th of July.  I love all holidays, but my favorite has always been Labor Day.  Sure, I get a day off work which makes for a short work week, but even without that, it would still be my choice holiday.

labor day

When I shared this with my students on Friday, they could not understand why anyone would choose Labor Day over Christmas or Thanksgiving.  I then asked them if they knew why we even celebrated this holiday…and the resounding “WHY???” let me know they did not.  I explained that the reason we celebrate Labor Day as a holiday is because……it’s the kickoff of my birthday month!!! 

21st party 003

old photo from my 21st birthday celebration

I know, I really shouldn’t take advantage of the fact that 7th graders do not understand sarcasm, but sometimes it is too hard to pass up the opportunity! 

Reasons I love Labor Day:

  • On Friday night, my cousins and I stay up ALL NIGHT LONG cooking bbq shoulders and hanging out – there are always crazy hilarious stories that emerge as a result of this night!

bbq

  • Dove hunting!  We hunt Saturday and Monday, and if we get enough doves, we beg Daniel to cook them in his famous secret marinade for us.

shoot

  • COLLEGE FOOTBALL!!!  V-O-L-S GO VOLS GO!  Even though our game was only on ppv this weekend, we watched several different college games throughout the day.  There is nothing like football in the south. *I also got to wear my cute UT shirt*

ut

  • Sales – I used to go shopping with my mom on Labor Day weekend (before I knew they were having the cousin bbq party without me).  We still go run out to a few stores, and I can find several good deals online!

labor day sale

  • It really IS the kickoff of my birthday month!  Yes, I celebrate all month!

Labor Day also means that fall is almost here and that cooler weather is coming!  On Saturday, it was 99 degrees here, but today the high is only 72!  YAY!!!

Another fun thing I did this weekend was meeting my mom for a MUCH NEEDED pedicure!  I think I may be the ONLY person to get a pedicure and go hunting in the same day haha. 

pedicure

It just means I’m well rounded, right?  Or as my friend Amber says…I’m diverse.

What did you do this Labor Day weekend?

On top of all the fun I’ve already mentioned, I also went to see The Help (FINALLY!).  It was a wonderful movie, but, as always, the book was better. 

 

10 Responses to “My Favorite Holiday”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated September 5, 2011 at 11:31 am

    It’s my birthday month, too! Yahoo! 😉 My husband took me out for a nice dinner and shopping on Saturday for an early birthday celebration. Post to follow tomorrow.

    Have a great Labor Day!

  2. 3 AK September 5, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Perhaps I came into my office just now so I could comment- (can’t do it from the BB) OF COURSE it’s the BEST HOLLIDAY!!! SINCE IT IS the kickoff to the BEST BIRTHDAY!!! YOURS!!! HALLLOOOOOO????? I am so happy and slightly embarrassed at my lack of cake skills when you turned 21. but THRILLED you had a picture of the cake! 🙂 love that! and Diversity- yes…you are diverse and I love you for it!!!

    I love you and I can’t wait to see you at the sweetest place in town! aaawww!!!!

  3. 5 Nicole September 5, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    It’s my birthday month too!! I always celebrate my birthday the week of.
    I just found your blog and I think you are adorable and gotta love a girl that hunts and loves football!! My husband and son are big time hunters.
    Have a beautiful day. Look forward to reading your blog!! 🙂

  4. 7 The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife September 5, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    My husband is in the field today, so I spent Labor Day outside with my pups. What a perfect day! Hope yours was good, too!

  5. 9 janae @hungryrunnergirl.com September 6, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Happy Happy Birthday month….I will celebrate all month with cake and ice cream:) That cake looks so good!! I saw the Help too and LOVED IT but you are right the book is always better!


Leave a Reply

