The weekly food chart

Last week I mentioned that I had started making a weekly food chart to plan my meals and snacks.  I knew it was saving me time during the week, but what I didn’t realize was that I was falling in love with my new Sunday food prep routine.  I love grocery shopping anyway (seriously – I could stay there for hours and read labels and find new products), and I also enjoy being in my kitchen.  After my grocery shopping, I come home, get out my cutting boards, knives, and storage containers, and line up all my fresh produce that is just begging to be sliced and diced.  It’s amazing how much more enjoyable chopping veggies is when you have no scheduled time frame (compared to a weeknight where I get home at 9:00 and then have to prep…not so fun and I may start getting cranky at this point). 

After church today, we went to Sam’s (multi colored bell peppers, fresh boneless skinless chicken breasts, bananas) and to Kroger (everything else ha).  As soon as we got home, we fixed a quick lunch (aka reheated leftovers from last night) and I got to work. 

P8030955

Peppers for Monday night stir-fry (and half went into freezer for next week)

P8030962

I also sliced up mushrooms (for Monday), onions, and then peeled and diced a couple sweet potatoes (both for Thursday).

Here’s the plan for this week (no, I don’t always follow it to a T, but it makes it so easy to get my lunches ready the night before if I already know what I’m packing – same thing for dinner!).

 

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Breakfast

German chocolate overnight oats

Protein smoothie (vanilla SunWarrior and blueberries)

Overnight oats

Cookie dough cereal bowl (fitnessista)

Protein smoothie (chocolate SunWarrior) or breakfast cookie

Snack

raw almonds and dark chocolate

vitatop

banana with peanut or almond butter

vitatop

Greek yogurt with honey, cinnamon, and FiberOne honey squares

Lunch

leftover bbq chicken

leftover stir-fry with brown rice

leftover salsa chicken tacos

spinach salad with salsa chicken

leftover chili

Snack

apple

banana and peanut butter

frozen yogurt

banana

cinnamon raisin bagel thin with goat cream cheese

Dinner

stir-fry with shrimp and brown rice

salsa chicken tacos

Kashi frozen pizza

sweet potato black bean chili (fitnessista)

cookout!!!

I don’t always plan what I will take with my lunch, but I usually take some sort of fruit (cherries, apple, grapes, banana, peaches, etc) and a spinach salad or veggies and hummus.  I always keep a Lara bar in my bag, and I have a stash of healthy snacks at school in case I get stuck there and cannot get home between cheer practice and Zumba.

Some other things I do to prep:

  • On Sunday, I mix the dry ingredients for my smoothies, so all I have to do is put it in the blender with one frozen banana, a handful of spinach, and some almond milk
  • Also on Sunday, mix the dry ingredients for my overnight oats so all I have to do is add the wet ingredients and pop in the fridge
  • I try make rice or grains ahead of time – this weekend I was making some brown rice for another recipe, and I went ahead and doubled it so that I would have enough for Monday night’s dinner
  • Set out things I need for dinner before I leave for work (pots, pans, etc) so I can start cooking as quickly as possible
  • We usually buy in bulk at Sam’s and divide into freezer bags for easy thawing for a weeknight meal
  • I always always pack my lunches and snacks the night before, or make sure they are ready to go in fridge (I didn’t do this at first, and I was constantly rushing around in the morning trying to get everything together or deciding what to take)
  • I have my coffee cup and water bottle ready to be filled before walking out the door

I am all for anything that saves time on the weeknights!  I think I may start making some of those make ahead meals that you can freeze (both to save money and time).

Hope you find this helpful (or at least amusing if you aren’t a planner at all).  Some people think my planning is a little excessive, but it helps save time and money, and we have drastically cut down on wasted food! 

Enjoy your Sunday and have a blessed week!!!  New workouts coming next week!

7 Responses to “The weekly food chart”


  1. 1 runningismagical August 30, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Wow! That is some hardcore planning, and I’m sure it saves a ton of money and time. I love to plan…but I am terrible at executing it! Haha – baby steps.

    • 2 natalie @ southern fit foodie August 30, 2011 at 2:07 pm

      Girl, I am all about some baby steps!!! This is definitely not the first time I’ve attempted meal planning haha. Adding in my prep time on Sundays has kept me accountable for sticking to my plans. 🙂 How’s the running coming along??? Any more crazy long runs (umm…almost ten miles?!?!)?

      • 3 runningismagical August 31, 2011 at 11:39 am

        Oh good – you just gave me hope! The running is going pretty well, I’m in my last month of training before my next half, so I’ll have to kick it up a little, but I”m excited!!!!

        No crazy runs this weekend sadly since I’ll be at a friend’s wedding (yay), but of course I’ll fit one in for sure!

  2. 4 notsodomesticated August 31, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Anything that can help save time is a great idea!! Week nights always feel so rushed for me. I really need to learn how to make some meals that I can freeze!

  3. 5 janae @hungryrunnergirl.com September 1, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Girl, I am JUST LIKE YOU!!! I am obsessed with being prepared and making sure my lunch is made the night before so I can just grab it in go! Yay for buying in bulk and I am craving peppers now:)

  4. 6 Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun September 4, 2011 at 6:48 am

    That is seriously SUCH a time saver. We plan out things too and try to pre-prep as much as possible. It makes life so much easier. Great post and info!


Leave a Reply

