My arms feel massive…and I love it

Do you ever have those days where after you finish a workout you feel like you have bodybuilder arms?  I know that if I look in a mirror, my arms will be hanging naturally by my sides, but I feel like they are sticking out and I can’t relax them (does that even make sense?). 

massive arms

(source)

Today was one of those workout days!  When Martha arrived at 8 this morning (our last day to not have to workout before 6 am), we warmed up by walking outside.  The heat index is supposed to be over 110 degrees today (and up to 120 tomorrow – WHAT?!), so it was nice to get some time in outside before the smoldering heat sets in.  Today’s workout looked like this:

3 sets alternating 15 of each:

Wide pushups

Wood choppers with 10lb db

Triceps dips on floor

3 sets alternating 15 of each:

Stability ball rollout

Side plank with knee tuck

Pass the ball (lying on back, pass stability ball from hands to feet and then back to hands, stretching out fully each time – I love these!)

3 sets alternating 15 of each:

Alternating reverse lunge with bicep curl with 10lb/12lb db

Assisted pullups

Bent over rows

3 sets alternating 15 of each:

Triceps extensions overhead with 12lb db

Stability ball rollup

Then complete the following one time through:

Pilates 100

Cancan crunches – 30 (like bicycle crunches but with straight legs)

Oblique twist no weight – 50

 

By the end of this workout, I was definitely feeling it all over!  Working out is the best way to start the day for me!

What is YOUR workout today???

8 Responses to “My arms feel massive…and I love it”


  1. 1 AK August 5, 2011 at 10:27 am

    Met my 6am workout gals (well only one gal-the other is on a trip) for interval training with weights/body weight/cardio for 50 minutes.

    Heavy B4L arms today- I hope my arms feel and look like yours when I get finished! (PS Nice Tan in that pic Nat. Wow! I didn’t even recognize you! those must be sooommmeee workouts you are throwing together over there! I can’t wait to see Martha!) hahahah

    Day off tomorrow-ahhh rest for the weary. 🙂

    love

  2. 3 runningismagical August 5, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Wow that is a hardcore workout!!! That’s how I get after a sculpting or body pump class.

    Today is a rest day, because I have 8 miles tomorrow!

  3. 5 notsodomesticated August 5, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Good for you, girl!! I did triceps, chest, and shoulders today … then 30 minutes on the treadmill. Nothing too crazy, but I’m enjoying getting back into weight lifting. 🙂

  4. 7 Suzanne August 8, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Yes maam……and I LOVE it! 🙂

  5. 8 kbwood August 12, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    YES i love that feeling!!! get it girrrrl!!! that workout rocks


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

