Birthday Surprise!!!

Daniel always tells me not to get him anything for his birthday (or our anniversary, or Christmas, or for anything else).  Seriously, what kind of wife would I be if did what my husband asked of me???  I can’t ignore a birthday, especially the birthday of the person I love the most!

daniel mexico

I wanted to find something fun and unique that would completely surprise him.  About a month ago I figured out exactly what I wanted to get him, and I knew it would be a gift he would love.  I was going to try to wait until today (his actual birthday) to give him his present, but I couldn’t wait.  I made my best attempt at being artistic (I’m creative, but in no way artistic) by making him a giant card out of poster board. 

happy birthday daniel

*yes, we have green carpet from the 1940’s in our walk-in pantry and workout room*

daniel bday card

*note to self – work on handwriting before school starts back*

daniel bday surprise

*do you see the “you are here” star I added???*

That’s right, we’re going to see the Indianapolis Colts play the Tennessee Titans.  Now, we love to support local teams, but we are Colts fans all the way.  Love some Payton Manning! Winking smile  (For those of you who may not know, Payton was the quarterback for the UT Vols, so that’s where it all started.)

I think my exact words were, “Daniel, it will be just you, me, and Payton Manning!  Oh, and about 70,000 other people, but whatever.”

Needless to say, he was very receptive of this gift, and I don’t think he regrets the fact that I disregarded his idea of not getting him a present.

Bonus about this present – our anniversary is in October, so we are going to spend the weekend of the game in Nashville and celebrate our anniversary as well!  I can’t wait!

12 Responses to “Birthday Surprise!!!”


  1. 1 Suzanne July 31, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    Happy Birthday Daniel!

  2. 3 notsodomesticated July 31, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    At first I thought the bird on top of his head was his gift haha!! That’s the “blonde” in me! 😉

  3. 7 megan @ muncher cruncher August 1, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    Natalie, you win the best wife EVER award! What a fun surprise! He is going to love it for sure! I can’t wait to see his response!
    Give him a happy b-day hug from me, ok?? (Hugs from strangers are totally normal and acceptable…right?)
    Your email made my day girl! seriously! xoxoxo

    • 8 natalie @ southern fit foodie August 1, 2011 at 6:32 pm

      He was excited! However, Daniel’s excited face isn’t much different than his “I’m just smiling because you’re forcing me and I do love you” face. HA. What’s that movie with Billy Bob Thornton where some girl says “put on your happy face!” and he says (with a completely straight face) “this IS my happy face.” LOL.

      I’m hugging Daniel now (from you) and he said said “thank you, megan” (because I asked him to) and looked at me in a really weird way.

  4. 11 Casey August 3, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    My BF does that too. It’s annoying–I just want him to have fun surprises on his b-day! Haha. Those tickets were an awesome gift!


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

