Southwest Stuffed Peppers

One of my most recent goals is to get back on track with meal planning.  With school starting back in less than two weeks (seriously?! where did this summer go??), Daniel and I will have limited time on weeknights to prepare and eat dinner, so meal planning is super important.  If we don’t plan it out…we may end up eating grilled cheese sandwiches (Daniel) or bowls of cereal (me) for dinner.  Not only do I need to improve my menu planning, but I should also start prepping my meals in advance.  On Sunday, I made a brief list of meals we could have this week based on what we had.  On the menu for last night was southwest stuffed peppers.  I chopped up all my veggies ahead of time, so when it came time to cook last night, it only took about ten minutes!!  Success.

bell peppers

Typically, I spoon the stuffing back into the peppers, top with a little shredded cheese, and bake at 350 for about 10 minutes.  However, last night I decided to chop up ALL the peppers and just eat the stuffing straight up.  Not as pretty to look at, but the taste was still amazing.

Southwest Stuffed Peppers

One package ground turkey breast (4 servings)

One each large red and yellow pepper – chopped (additional peppers for stuffing)

Half a small onion – finely diced

Two small jalapenos – minced (if you don’t like it as spicy, you can only use one pepper or completely leave it out)

One can organic black beans, drained and rinsed

One small can no salt added corn (or frozen), drained and rinsed

Heinz Reduced Sugar Ketchup

Salt and pepper

Seasonings of choice

Shredded cheese (optional)

Cook turkey in skillet with seasonings (I used Fiesta by Tastefully Simple) and then drain and set aside.  Cook chopped bell peppers, onions, and jalapenos (I cooked mine with a light mist of EVOO, but you could use about 1 tbsp. of the oil).  Add the black beans and corn to the skillet.  Heat about 5 minutes on medium heat and season with salt and pepper.  Once everything is heated through, add in cooked ground turkey and mix together.  Add in about 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup reduced sugar ketchup (you could use regular or organic ketchup, or even a bbq sauce to have a more smoky taste) and mix well to combine.  Season with plenty of salt and pepper, and add in any seasonings you like (onion powder, garlic powder, fresh herbs, etc).  At this point, you can serve the stuffing on its own, or top with cheese and stuff into peppers. 

stuffed peppers

(source)

You could use ground beef or chicken instead of turkey, or you could leave out the meat and add in quinoa (my fave), barley, brown rice, bulgur or any other grain.

Leftovers are DELICIOUS wrapped up in a wheat tortilla or served on a salad with some plain Greek yogurt.

 

5 Responses to “Southwest Stuffed Peppers”


  1. 1 She-Fit July 27, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    Hey, I still haven’t received an email from you from Corazona Snacks to send your winnings. Can you please email me at shefit.ruth@gmail.com Thanks!

  2. 3 janae @hungryrunnergirl.com July 31, 2011 at 12:15 am

    Oh my goodness…..those look absolutely amazing!!! I hope you and daniel are having so much fun celebrating his birthday and I can’t wait to see what you got him!

  3. 4 megan @ muncher cruncher July 31, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    YUM!! Those look so good! I am still so jealous of your Mexico trip. How is the training/zumba/coaching/everything else you have going on!?!? I swear you have got to be SO busy. You’re amazing! xoxoxo


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

Top Posts & Pages

The Lean Green Bean

