Sometimes you have to say no…

Even when you want to say yes!

I am a total multitasking, over-achieving, jam-packed schedule kind of girl.  My schedule this week is completely insane… I’m house-sitting and dog-sitting all week (10 days), completing my LAST WEEK of Insanity (thank goodness), running elementary cheer camp Monday-Friday (65 screaming yelling running dancing little girls), coaching cheer practice every day for my high school girls, teaching zumba every day, attending a bridal shower, and attempting to spend quality time with my sweet husband and actually have some FUN.  Whew.  Just typing that seriously made my head swim a little. 

I typically train my personal training client on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings for a full hour.  I knew that this week was going to take a lot out of me, and I knew I had to let something go for a few days so my body could get enough rest.  Thankfully, my pt client is someone I am very close to, so she completely understood when I told her I had to take the week off.  I sent her home with some weights, workout dvds, and my pullup bar.  I am so thankful for her, but I feel like I let her down by canceling our workouts this week. 😦 

Sometimes I just have to remind myself that I cannot do everything for everyone, and not a single person is expecting that anyway…it’s just me pressuring myself.  As much as my brain likes to disagree with me, I know my body needs more rest.  I am extremely grateful for the large amount of healthy living blogs that I read – they always serve as a reminder that it is important to rest.

One thing I’m working on is building margin into my life (one of my former pastors taught me about this).  You know how when you write/type, you’re supposed to leave margins all around the edge?  I think we are supposed to leave a little room like that in our lives too.  Right now I feel like I’m running off both sides of the page…

 

A man too busy to take care of his health is like a mechanic too busy to take care of his tools.

Spanish Proverb

 

What do you do to relax/rest/unwind/chill?  How often do you truly rest (not counting sleep at night)?

 

Do you  have to make yourself calm down and spend time relaxing?

4 Responses to “Sometimes you have to say no…”


  1. 1 runningismagical July 18, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    Wow you are SUPER busy. I feel like an under achiever now!

    I usually let myself sleep in Sunday morning. And I even let myself just hang out in bed for awhile before getting up. Thats probably the only time I let myself TRULY sleep and let any worries drift away. It’s important for our souls and well being to treat ourselves to a stress-free hour or two.

    Then you can start feeling fresh and ready to take it all on 🙂

  2. 2 She-Fit July 20, 2011 at 11:15 am

    This is definitely something that I have always struggled with. I’m glad that you were able to prioritize and cut things out.

    Ps- You won my Corazonas Oatmeal Squares Giveaway! YAY!!!!! Just email me your mailing address so that I can have the company send them your way.


  1. 1 Back to Training « southern fit foodie Trackback on July 25, 2011 at 11:36 am

Leave a Reply

