salt and vinegar zucchini chips

Remember last week when I said I made some salt and vinegar zucchini chips?  Yeah, well, they’re all gone now.  Actually, they’ve been gone since last week.  And I made two batches.  

They really are that good.  Like my other recipes, they are easy and the prep work is minimal.

Salt and Vinegar Zucchini Chips

Note: I used my dehydrator for this recipe and they turned out perfectly.  I’m not sure if they would work the same in an oven, but I suppose you could try!  I would use the lowest heat setting possible and also put it on convection to get the air circulating (if that’s an option on your oven – it’s definitely not on mine haha).  I think that if you used an oven you would want to do these overnight or throughout the course of a day.  

Another note: This recipe made about 2.5 batches in my dehydrator, but I don’t think the measurements are very specific at all.  Just use equal parts water and vinegar and you should be good.

Several medium zucchinis or a couple very large zucchinis, thinly sliced (I used my best friend the mandolin and used the 1/8 inch setting)

3-4 cups white vinegar

3-4 cups water 

extra virgin olive oil (I’m sure any other oil would work as well) -roughly 2 tbsp??

salt

 

After slicing zucchinis, put into large bowl and pour equal parts water and vinegar over until zucchinis are submerged.  Cover and put in refrigerator at least a few hours or overnight.  Drain zucchinis (do not rinse) and place on dehydrator trays (or baking sheets if using the oven).  Mist lightly with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.  Turn dehydrator on 135 degrees and let run for about 7 hours, or until zucchinis are crispy and the texture is to your liking.  

Please understand that these are salt and VINEGAR chips, so wherever you cook these will have a very strong vinegar smell.  I put my dehydrator in the garage or on the porch so it doesn’t knock us out when we walk in the house.  

Store these in an airtight container (they lay really well in a mason jar) and enjoy!

 

Let’s take a look at those nutritional stats:

According to www.myfitnesspal.com, one small package (1.5 oz) of Lay’s salt and vinegar chips has 230 calories, 15 grams of fat, and 23 grams of carbs.

Using the dehydrated zucchini method, one serving has only 99 calories, 8 grams of fat (from the extra virgin olive oil), and only 8 grams of carbs (which are from the zucchini).

Um, yeah.  No further explanation is necessary.  I will probably be making many more batches of these zucchini chips throughout the summer!  I plan on trying a bbq flavor and possibly a garlic onion one as well.  I’ll be sure to let you know how those turn out.

much love,

natalie

so tell me…

Do you like the flavor of salt and vinegar?

What is your favorite chip? I love sunchips, and Pringles are also delicious (they are made in my hometown!) but not healthy.  Everything in moderation, right?

5 Responses to “salt and vinegar zucchini chips”


  1. 1 notsodomesticated July 2, 2012 at 6:36 am

    I love this idea! If I had a dehydrator, I would be making them tomorrow!! I’m just thinking that the bottoms might get soggy in the oven, unless you use like a wire rack or something. I was actually going to try to make sweet potato fries in the oven using my cooking rack last week, but right before I put it in the oven, I started to question if the rack was made of metal or plastic. I wasn’t sure, and I didn’t want to risk it melting all over my oven haha! So I just switched to a cookie sheet. :/

  2. 3 Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) July 2, 2012 at 8:22 am

    these sound awesome! i wish we had a dehydrator! i really love Sun Chips. i also recently tried these dried green beans from trader joe’s that were AMAZING and oh so addicting!! sooo good! i wouldn’t consider them “chips” by any means, but they sure were tasty and satisfied my salt cravings.

  3. 5 In Sweetness and In Health July 2, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    So glad you were successful with these!!! I’m not generally a fan of salt and vinegar…but since you made them, I’d be willing to try them haha :)


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

The Lean Green Bean

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

