The run that DID actually happen

After my fastest run ever on Thursday, I decided Friday morning that I would hit up the gym after school and actually do the run.

Confession: Even though I teach 3 or 4 classes each week at this gym, I’ve only worked out there twice.  I actually prefer to do my workouts at home or at the performance training center where I also teach.

To make sure that I didn’t bail on my workout plans, I wore my sports bra to school that day (it was tshirt day – don’t judge me).  As soon as school was out, I helped out at a quick cheer practice (we have clinics and tryouts this week!) and then headed over to the gym.  I did six rounds of a 60 second sprint followed by a 3 minute jog for a total of 24 minutes.  With my short cooldown, it was about 2.5 miles.  I have to admit – I was quite proud of myself.  Two years ago, if you had asked me to complete this sprint interval workout, I MAY have been able to make it through the first two rounds.  Maybe.  My legs are much stronger now, and my cardio endurance has improved tremendously (thank you, Zumba!).  I am going to TRY to make the Friday after school run a weekly thing.  We’ll see. :)

 

(source)

Saturday was one of my favorite Saturdays ever.  It was basically unplanned, but it ended up being filled with many productive activities.  I worked out with my client, walked at the park, ran some errands, cooked lunch, built my own suspension trainers (knock-off TRX), did a quick suspension workout to test out the straps, hit some golf balls, then Daniel and I watched a movie, cooked dinner, and watched another movie.  I was feeling sleepy around 11:45, but then we started watching Moneyball (which neither of us had ever seen), and I actually stayed awake until it was over.  We both really enjoyed the movie!

(source)

On Sunday, we drove to Daniel’s dad’s church (he’s a pastor) to surprise him.  It was his 25th anniversary preaching at the church, and he was incredibly surprised to see six of his seven children come in (one was out of town) with their families.  It was a very special Sunday for Daniel’s parents, and I’m extremely thankful that we were able to be there to share it with them.

(I didn’t get any pictures yesterday, but this is one from the family reunion in 2010 – this is just Daniel’s parents, his siblings and most of their spouses – BIG family!)

We rounded out our weekend by spending a couple of hours cooking and prepping for the week.  It was a relief to get home tonight (at 8:45) and know that dinner was already made and my lunch is ready to go for tomorrow!

I hope that y’all had a great weekend and a fantastic Monday!

So tell me…
What did you do over the weekend?

6 Responses to “The run that DID actually happen”


  1. 1 Kimberly Boots April 16, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    My run actually happened, too! LOL I finished my 5k by the grace of God and recouped for the rest of the weekend. :) And I enjoyed going to see the play “Lend Me a Tenor” at the Ned! I really liked Moneyball, too, but I think part of that is the accountant in me enjoying the statistics *nerd*. My schedule has been so crazy the last several weeks, I hate that I have missed out on zumba. :( Maybe I will get the chance to squeeze in a class one day this week! Hope you are doing well!

  2. 3 notsodomesticated April 17, 2012 at 6:29 am

    Wow, you had a very productive weekend!! :) Glad you had such a nice time with Daniel’s family! Can’t wait to see you in a couple of weeks! ;)

  3. 5 pintofgoals April 17, 2012 at 8:52 am

    I haven’t seen Moneyball yet but I also heard it was great. Maybe this weekend…
    Besides the run and baby shower that I blogged about, the other great parts of my weekend were going to yoga Sunday morning, napping on the couch Sunday afternoon, and having my husband come home from Vegas Sunday evening.


Leave a Reply

pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Follow me on twitter!

The Lean Green Bean

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

